Skip to content

Pull list for June 15 2016

June 14, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, yay.

I’ll go to the store for: My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #43, by Thom Zahler and Tony Fleecs; Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! #7, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and Megan Wilson.

I’ll also review: Civil War II #2, by Brian Bendis, David Marquez and Justin Ponsor; Civil War II X-Men #1, by Cullen Bunn, Andrea Broccardo and Jesus Aburtov; Deadpool #14, by Gerry Duggan, Mike Hawthorne, Terry Pallot and Jordie Bellaire; Uncanny X-Men #8, by Cullen Bunn, Ken Lashley and Nolan Woodard.

So that’s two comics I’m picking up, and 4 reviews. Pretty light.

I’m definitely excited for Hellcat. It’s been adorable fun all along, and this one has Jessica Jones! Woot!

I finished Evil Librarian, by Michelle Knudsen. My review:

This is a very good YA novel. It’s got a reasonably fun premise – a high school student learns her school’s new librarian is a demon – and there’s plenty of interesting twists and developments along the way. Her struggles to defeat the demon and save her best friend run alongside her desire to win over a cute boy, and while her obsession with him can sometimes get annoying, it can also be cute and endearing. And then there’s another major subplot involving her school putting on a performance of Sweeney Todd, and it’s this subplot that actually has the strongest writing, I think. Knudsen’s love of musical theatre shines through very clearly, so when the book discusses the subject, the writer’s enthusiasm is infectious. The Sweeney Todd subplot does a lot to elevate the book as a whole, getting readers even more invested in the story. It’s also worth noting that the protagonist’s primary motivation is to help her best friend, and even her feelings towards the cute boy take a backseat to her feelings for her friend, and that’s nice to see.

So, yeah, it’s a good book.

The reason I decided to read this is, obviously, because I’m trying to become a librarian. Or a library technician, anyway. So a book with a librarian in a prominent role is pretty much automatically going to interest me. I did enjoy the book, especially the stuff about musical theatre. I often find, when reading books that feature things a writer is passionate about, that those make up the best parts of the book. When I read The Big Wide Calm, for example, the scenes focusing on the songwriting process were the best scenes in the book, because it was clear how much the writer enjoys the songwriting process. The same applies here. The best scenes are the ones where the protagonist just geeks out about musical theatre. It actually made me want to re-watch Sweeney Todd. But not the Depp version, because it turns out he’s an abusive asshole. Sorry, allegedly an abusive asshole. But I default to believing women.

I also finished The Nameless City, by Faith Erin Hicks.

So this was pretty great. Hicks is fantastic as both a writer and an artist. The characters in this book have a lot of depth and personality. The dialogue is solid, and the art features some great facial expressions to really sell emotions. There’s also a nice sense of motion, which is important given the role parkour plays in the book. The story is really interesting, with good world-building and a cool premise. Credit should also be given to Jordie Bellaire for her gorgeous colours. She might be the best colour artist in comics.

This is a great read, and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series.

I’m a fan of Hicks’ work. And I really enjoyed this one. It’s great. And I’ve won another book from Goodreads. The Blood of Kings, by Douglas Seacat.

So I discovered a new anime recently. Wendy Witch (@AngrygirLcomics) has talked about it a few times. It’s called Flying Witch. And it’s a slice-of-life show about a young witch, living with some relatives and attending high school. And that’s pretty much it. No particular plot. No great threat. No tension or action or anything. Just a happy witch living with a happy family making happy friends and generally being happy. And it’s all just really sweet and cute and pleasant and happy. And it makes me happy. And honestly, I think I genuinely needed this show in my life. I’ve been pretty depressed for the past couple years. And this show really lightened my mood and made me feel better. Of course, then Saturday night happened and I’ve been having trouble getting my mood back up. I’ll probably watch more of this show this week, and hopefully it’ll cheer me back up. And hey, if you need something soothing to make you feel good, after this past weekend, then maybe give Flying Witch a try.

My schedule for the week: 9:30- 4:15 Saturday, 2:30-9:15 Sunday, 5:15-11 Tuesday. So posts Thursday, Friday and Monday. Maybe Saturday, I’ll see how I feel.

That’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

