Skip to content

Pull list for June 29 2016

June 28, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, so no problem with reviews.

I’ll go to the store for: ANAD Avengers #11, by Mark Waid, Mahmud Asrar and Dave McCaig; Black Panther #3, by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Brian Stelfreeze and Laura Martin; Captain Marvel #6, by Christ and Ruth Gage, Kris Anka and Matt Wilson; Mockingbird #4, by Chelsea Cain, Kate Neimczyk and Rachelle Rosenberg; My Little Pony Friends Forever #30, by Christina Rice and Agnes Garbowska; Silk #9, by Robbie Thompson, Stacey Lee and Ian Herring; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #9, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Tom Fowler, David Malki, Braden Lamb and Rico Renzi.

I’ll also review: Extraordinary X-Men #11, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba and Edgar Delgado; Spider-Man/Deadpool #6, by Scott Aukerman, Reilly Brown, Rick Magyar, Le Beau Underwood, Scott Hanna and Jason Keith; Uncanny X-Men #9, by Cullen Bunn, Ken Lashley and Nolan Woodard; Worst X-Man Ever #5, by Max Bemis, Michael Walsh and Ruth Redmond.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and 4 reviews. Pretty big week.

I’m most excited for Black Panther, Mockingbird, Silk and Squirrel Girl. Coates is building a fascinating story in Black Panther, and I am totally on board with it. I want to see where it goes. Cain is likewise telling a really interesting story in Mockingbird, and doing a lot of fantastic character work with Bobbi, exploring who she really is. Superhero, spy, scientist, feminist. It’s a great series. Silk will have Stacey Lee back on art tomorrow, woot! I love Stacey Lee. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy Tana Ford’s style, too. And her style works great with the story Thompson is telling. But goddamn, Stacey Lee is amazing. Squirrel Girl, of course, is Squirrel Girl. I am always excited for Squirrel Girl. Squirrel Girl is a delight. I’m also looking forward to Captain Marvel. It’s a shame Butters and Fazekas left the title, but I am a fan of Christos Gage.

You may have noticed I’m not actually picking up Spider-Man/Deadpool this week. That’s because it’s not being written by Kelly. I’m sure Aukerman’s a funny guy and that it’ll be a funny issue. But I’m not this series for Kelly.

I’ve been reading the latest issue of Lightspeed Magazine, People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science-Fiction. I’m enjoying it. The stories are great. It shows the value in promoting diverse voices – you get some fascinating viewpoints. I’m not sure I’ll be able to finish the issue before the end of the month. I’m barely halfway through now.

I was supposed to have a date yesterday. But the girl never showed. She stood me up, and she’s ghosted me, not replying to any of the messages I sent her. I suspect she’s a trolling bitch who enjoys leading men on and then letting them drop. But this pretty much confirmed for me that there is not a single woman in this town willing to date me. I’d been thinking that before, and then she messaged me, and I thought, hey! A girl who is willing to go on a date with me! But nope. There’s no one. So now I’m depressed and grumpy and just so goddamn tired of being lonely. I’m back to feeling like I’m never going to find anyone, and I’m going to die alone.

My schedule for the week: 5:30-11:15 Thursday, 10:45-3:45 Saturday, 5:30-11:15 Sunday, 1:30-7:15 Tuesday. So I’ll have posts Friday and Monday.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

