Skip to content

Pull list for July 6 2016

July 5, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work tomorrow, but I shouldn’t have trouble getting reviews up anyway.

I’ll go to the store for: Silver Surfer #6, by Dan Slott and the Allreds.

I’ll also review: Civil War II X-Men #2, by Cullen Bunn,  Andrea Broccardo and Jesus Aburtov; Deadool v Gambit #2, by Bens Acker and Blacker, Danilo Beyruth and Chris Peter.

So . . . wow. I have nothing. I don’t think I’ll even bother going to the store, and I’ll just save Silver Surfer for next week. So just the two reviews.

My July pull list: Silver Surfer #6, Squirrel Girl #10, Moon Girl #9, All-New Wolverine #10, Power Man & Iron Fist #6, Hellcat #8, Captain Marvel #7, Ms. Marvel #9, Ultimates #9, New Avengers #13, New Avengers #14, ANAD Avengers #12, Nighthawk #3, Vision #9, A-Force #7, Silk #10, Mockingbird #5, Black panther #4. 18 titles from Marvel. Not bad. I may or may not end up picking up CWII Choosing Sides #2. The Whitley/Sauvage story with Ms. America, Monica Rambeau, Misty Knight, Storm, Silhouette and more awesome ladies looks like it should be great. But I don’t really care about the other two stories in the issue.

I finished People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction!, a special issue of Lightspeed Magazine. It’s an anthology of sci-fi stories by people of colour. My review:

This was fantastic. It’s an anthology of sci-fi stories, all made people people of colour. A variety of people from around the world, bringing their experiences and perspectives to the genre. And a lot of them are truly fascinating. All the stories are, at the very least, enjoyable. But most are excellent, interesting and insightful and poignant. Some are simple, some have very complex ideas. One (which is a reprint) will make your head hurt trying to wrap your mind around it – time travel is always fun for that. There’s also interviews with all the creators, and an essay from each, as well, so there’s some cool extra content.

This is great stuff, promoting high-quality content from diverse creators, which is always great to see.

I’ve got a couple more issues of Lightspeed I can read, as well. But I’ve got a whole lot to read in general, so they’ll wait for a while. For now, I’m reading The Dog That Laid Eggs. It’s not good. At all. Right now, I’m planning on giving it two stars. It’s a comedy book that’s not funny.

More pleasantly, there’s a Kickstarter project you should back. Elements: Fire, from Beyond Press. It’s a comics anthology by creators of colour. Because we need diversity among comics and creators. The more voices we have telling stories, the better. I’ll admit to a lack of familiarity with more of the creators involved. Editor Taneka Stotts has been involved with a couple other projects I’ve supported on Kickstarter. A story will be done by Mildred Louis, creator of the great Agents of the Realm webcomic, about a group of magical girls. Anyway, it looks like a great project, so show support for diverse comics.

I have a date on Thursday. I’m not expecting it to go very well, truthfully. I get the feeling the girl’s not particularly smart. To quote Foghorn Leghorn, “Nice girl, but about as sharp as a sack of wet mice.” We’ll see, I guess. But yeah, I’m not expecting much.

I’m going to try to start going back to edit some of my older posts, to add in more images. I’ve done the first two issues. This will be a very, very, very slow process, though.

My schedule for the week: 2:30-8:15 tomorrow, 2-8:45 Friday, 9:15-4 Saturday, 4:15-11 Sunday, 2-8:45 Monday. So posts on Thursday and Tuesday.

That’s all I have for this week. I need to start thinking of more things to talk about in these posts. Oh well.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

