Skip to content

Pull list for July 27 2016

July 26, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work until 3:30 tomorrow, so no problem with reviews.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New All-Different Avengers #12, by Mark Waid, Mahmud Asrar and ave McCaig; Black Panther #4, by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Brian Stelfreeze, Laura Martin and Matt Milla; Captain Marvel #7, by Ruth and Christos Gage, Marco Failla and Matt Wilson; Mockingbird #5, by Chelsea Cain, Ibrahim Moustafa and Rachelle Rosenberg; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #9, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; Ms. Marvel #9, by G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa;, Adrian Alphona and Ian Herring My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #44, by Thom Zahler and Tony Fleecs; New Avengers #14, by Al Ewing, Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco and Jesus Aburtov; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #10, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Tom Fowler and Rico Renzi.

I’ll also review: Civil War II #4, by Brian Bendis, David Marquez and Justin Ponsor; Extraordinary X-Men #12, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba, Edgar Delgado and Dono Sanchez-Almara; Old Man Logan #9, by Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo; Uncanny Avengers #11, by Gerry Duggan, Pepe Larraz and Dave Curiel; X-Men ’92 #5, by Chris Sims, Chad Bowers, Corey Hamscher and Matt Milla.

So that’s 9 goddamn comics I’m picking up, and 5 reviews. Wow. This is a big week. This will hurt.

All the books look good. Black Panther has been really intriguing stuff, great political stuff. Captain Marvel is great, and this arc has Dr. Minerva, who I love as a villain. Mockingbird has been really smart, interesting, feminist stuff, and I’m very excited to see how this arc ends. Moon Girl is an adorable series and will have more adorableness. Ms. Marvel is Ms. Marvel, and I definitely enjoy the way the series explores various themes, and this arc is exploring profiling and future-crime. New Avengers is crazy fun and now we’re getting a big action arc where it looks like Sunspot will get to kick some ass. And Squirrel Girl is Squirrel Girl. So, yeah, lots to love.

As an aside, Blue Monday Vol. 1, by Chynna Clugston-Major, is getting re-released tomorrow. It’s great. So it’s very much worth checking out.

Marvel’s October solicits are out. My pull list for the month: Champions #1, Black Panther #7, Hellcat #11, Mosaic #1, Ms. Marvel #12, Captain Marvel #10, Ultimates #12, Power Man & Iron Fist #9, New Avengers #17, A-Force #10, Mockingbird #8, ANAD Avengers #15, Vision #12, Spider-Man/Deadpool #10, Silk #13, Moon Girl #12, Squirrel Girl #13, Nighthawk #6, Wolverine #13. So 19 Marvel comics that month. I think my overall Now pull list is sitting at 22 titles, and odds are good there’ll be a few more books announced over the next couple months.

So, SDCC was this past week. There isn’t that much for me to talk about. Agents of SHIELD will apparently have Robbie Reyes as Ghost Rider, which is so great. And Gabe will be there, too! I love Robbie and Gabe. Robbie is the BEST Ghost Rider. He’s relevant and relatable in a way the others never were. Johnny Storm was Evil Knievel, but dumb enough to think making a deal with the devil was a good idea. Dan Kethc was OK, but he didn’t have a strong personality. He was mostly just there because they needed to have someone to host the Ghost Rider. But Robbie is a fantastic character. So is Gabe. So I’m hoping that, with them being on TV, maybe he’ll get a new solo. Speaking of Marvel TV, the Luke Cage trailer is great. I’m excited. And, of course, Brie Larson has been confirmed to play Captain Marvel. I hope the soundtrack includes Metric’s “Black Sheep.” Bonus points if it’s used in a scene where Larson sings along to it. All the bonus points if she sings along to the Clash At Demonhead version from Scott Pilgrim. Because, in my heart, Brie Larson will always be Envy Adams. I loved the Scott Pilgrim movie. Not as good as the comics, but still an awesome movie.

For comics: Not much X-Men news worth talking about. All-New Wolverine will launch Enemy of the State II, a spiritual successor to the Wolverine story. We’ll see how it goes. Taylor’s been doing great work, so it should be good. X-Men vs. Inhumans will be a winter event, and people are already groaning at yet another Hero vs. Hero battle. I’m kinda meh on it. I’m not really a fan of the Inhumans. I will say that this event is one that was obviously coming. Everyone knew there was going to have to be some big battle between them. With any luck, the event will end with both sides finding a way to reverse the Terrigen poisoning of mutants, so the X-Men can get the hell away from this damn extinction storyline.

But the biggest news, for me, was the announcement of World of Wakanda, a series spinning off from Black Panther. The writers will be Ta-Nehisi Coates, Roxane Gay and Yona Harvey. Coates and Gay will co-write a story about Ayo and Aneka, the Midnight Angels, who have been, hands-down, my favourite part of Coates’ Black Panther. Harvey will do a back-up about Zenzi, the woman provoking uprisings against the Panther. Here’s what’s awesome: Gay and Harvey are both black women. Marvel is launching a series with black women as writers! And what’s more, Gay is also queer! So a queer black woman will be writing a story about two queer black women. That is fantastic news. Gay and Harvey are the first black women Marvel has hired as writers, and it’s about damn time. And I’ve been angry about Marvel’s lack of LGBT representation in Nower, and this is definitely a step in the right direction. (Now if only we can get that Ms. America solo.)

I read That Time I Turned 30 In Greece, by Tana Ford. My review:

I liked this. This was a fun autobiographical comic about a vacation Tana Ford and a friend took in Greece. There’s some travelogue aspects as she talks about things they see in Greece. There’s also some introspection, and some goofy jokes. It’s a fun read. The art is nice, a style that’s a mix between cartoonish and realistic, with great expressiveness. I enjoyed reading this comic.

Ford, of course, is the primary artist on Silk. Last year, on a whim, I backed a project she had on Kickstarter for Duck! Vol. 3. I backed at a level that got me her previously-released works. The first two volumes of Duck! were really good, and I was actually really looking forward to the third one . . . and then Ford was hired as the artist on Silk, which completely wrecked her planned release date for Duck. But it’s OK. I like her work, and she seems like a really cool, nice person, so I’m glad she’s gotten the opportunity to do mainstream comics work.

My schedule for the week: 8:30-3:15 tomorrow, 10-4:30 Saturday, 8:45-3:30 Sunday, 11:15-6 Monday. So posts Thursday, Friday and Tuesday. Three posts in one week! That doesn’t happen often. And I might do one Saturday, I’ll see how I feel.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

