Skip to content

Pull list for September 28 2016

September 27, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I finish work at 3:15 tomorrow.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Marvel #9, by Ruth and Christos Gage, Thony Silas and Matt Wilson; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #11, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; Ms. Marvel #11, by G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa, Adrian Alphona and Ian Herring; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #46, by Ted Anderson and Agnes Garbowska; New Avengers #16, by Al Ewing, Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco and Jesus Aburtov; Nighthawk #6, by David Walker, Ramon Villalobos and Tamra Bonvillain; Snotgirl #3, by Bryan Lee O’Malley, Leslie Hung; Spider-Man/Deadpool #9, by Joe Kelly, Ed McGuinness, Mark Morales and Jason Keith; Ultimates #11, by Al Ewing, Djibril Morissette, Kenneth Rocafort and Dan Brown; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #12, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson and Rico Renzi

I’ll also review: Deadpool #19, by Gerry Duggan, Scott Koblish and Nick Filardi; Deadpool Annual, by Gerry Duggan, Scott Koblish, Chris Sotomayor, Ryan Kinnaird and Adam Warren; Extraordinary X-Men #14, by Jeff Lemire, Victor Ibanez, Guillermo Mogorron and Jay Ramos; X-Men ’92 #7, by Chad Bowers, Chris Sims, Alti Firmansyah and Matt Milla.

So that’s 10 goddamn comics I’m picking up, and 4 additional reviews. Uuuugh.

Lots to be excited about, though. The Gages are doing good work exploring Carol’s viewpoint for CWII, making her very sympathetic. Moon Girl is always wonderful, of course. I love her. Ms. Marvel is also always great, and the preview has Hijinx being amusing and blowing up a car. New Avengers is continuing its big climax arc with more big awesome stuff, including bringing Wiccan, Hulkling and Squirrel Girl back into the fight. Nighthawk has been a great look at racial tensions. Snotgirl is weird but amazing. Spider-Man/Deadpool is the best Deadpool comic in a long, long time. Ultimates is going to have a big fight with Thanos, who is being written brilliantly by Ewing. And Squirrel Girl looks hilarious. The recap page has her telling Tony Stark, over Twitter, that he should change his name to Ira Onman. That’s just in the recap page, and it’s one of the funniest things ever. So, yeah, lots of good stuff this week.

I should talk about the December previews. It’s the month Inhumans vs. X-Men starts. The premise seems to be that mutants are two weeks away from extinction. And you know what? I’m glad that’s the premise. No, really, listen. There’s no way Marvel will just get rid of mutants entirely. They won’t kill off the X-line. So if mutants are that close to extinction? If there’s an actual time limit? Then it means a solution has to be found by the end of the event. So in all likelihood, IvX will mark the end of this “Terrigen poison” plot, and we can maybe get a new direction that isn’t a rehash of old directions. (Might I suggest exploring the idea of mutants as an actual minority group, complete with subcultures? Yes, I am suggesting going back to the Morrison era. Because it’s the direction that makes the most sense for the franchise.) Regardless, IvX is another event I will be reading digitally, via someone else’s money.

Aside from that, there’s a lot I am thoroughly excited for. USAvengers, Hulk (Mariko Tamaki, guys!), Hawkeye. The Gamora solo is finally launching, amidst no fanfare, which confuses me. When it was first announced, it was treated as kind of a big deal. People have been asking for, like, a year if it was still happening, with Marvel saying yes. And now, when it finally has a release date? Marvel just quietly slipped it into the previews. Maybe they’ll hype it a bit more when the release date gets closer. I just find it weird that they didn’t make a big deal about it having an official release date, though. It makes me wonder if they don’t think it’s very good.

But moving on! There’s a Power Man & Iron Fist Annual. And since it’s coming out in December, it’s the Sweet Christmas Annual. That’s what it’s called. Sweet Christmas Annual. Heeheehee! I love it. Ghost Rider #2 will have Cho-Hulk and – even better! – Wolverine! Laura will cameo in Ghost Rider! That has me happy, because I love Robbie Reyes, and I love Laura, so it’ll be awesome seeing them together. And Squirrel Girl #15. Oh man. Guys. You know I love Squirrel Girl. You know I love cats. Squirrel Girl #15 is from the perspective of Nancy’s cat. Mew! It’s a Mew issue! Remember when Hawkeye had the Pizza Dog issue? This is like that, but it’s Mew the cat! This also makes me even more desperate for All-New Wolverine to do an issue from the perspective of Jonathan the Actual Wolveriner. They can even put that on the cover. Right over “All-New,” they would write “Jonathan the Actual.” Anyway. Yes.

Scarlet Witch #13 will have Stephanie Hans on art, so I’ll be getting that issue. I’ve been reading the series in bits and pieces online, when I get digital codes from people (and also through Marvel Unlimited), and it’s a great series. I just can’t really afford to add it to my pull list. But it’s a good series, and I will definitely pick up an issue drawn by Stephanie Hans. ANXM will have them face off against the Goblin Queen, who I think will be the Secret Wars Inferno version, so that should be fun. X-Men ’92 is ending, which doesn’t disappoint me at all, or surprise me. I still maintain that its insistence on adhering to homage held it back, and it would have been a better book if it had been more willing to start doing its own thing.

So, my December pull list: All-New Wolverine #15, Avengers #2, Black Panther #9, Champions #3, Scarlet Witch #13, Silver Surfer #10, Hawkeye #1, Mosaic #3, Occupy Avengers #2, Power Man & Iron Fist #11, Silk #15, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #15, World of Wakanda #2, Captain Marvel #0, Gamora #1, Hellcat #13, PM&IF Sweet Christmas Annual, Ultimates 2 #2, Ghost Rider #2, Hulk #1, Moon Girl #14, US Avengers #1. 22 titles. Ouch.

I finished Mabel the Lovelorn Dwarf, by Sherry Peters. My review:

This was a very good book. Very enjoyable. The protagonist is the kind of Clueless About Her Own Value kind of character YA fiction loves, but making her a dwarf does give it a fun twist, as she worries about not being fat enough, and her beard not being thick enough. The mystery throughout the book about what happened to Mabel’s mam is done well, with clues being dropped along, until it builds to an emotionally satisfying moment. The book does feel, at times, a bit unfocused, with a major plot ending only halfway through the book, to be replaced by another plot. That gives it a certain feeling of being two books smushed together. But it’s still enjoyable. The protagonist’s arc is predictable but well-told and satisfying. The writing is sharp and entertaining.

All in all, this is definitely worth reading.

So, yeah, I liked it. Next up, I need to make time to re-read and review Pretty Deadly Vol.2. This week, I’m sure.

On Sunday, I saw that the latest My Little Pony movie was on YouTube! I . . . don’t think it was up legally, though. It seemed to be from a Spanish-speaking country’s TV broadcast. A couple minutes were missing, near the end, which was a bit of a shame. But! Not too big a deal! So I watched My Little Pony: Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree. I livetweeted it, and collected the tweets here. I really enjoyed the movie. I do tend to turn my critical thinking brain off with MLP. I like to like it. But I thought this movie was really good. Strong plotting, good humour, an interesting mystery that built to a satisfying climax. Most of the songs were great. The villain song was especially epic. Villains always get the best songs. So, yeah, I enjoyed the movie quite a bit. It’s the last of the Equestria Girls movies. Which is actually a little sad, I’ll be honest.

My schedule for the week: 8:30-3:15 tomorrow, 12:30-9 Friday, 11:15-6 Saturday, 8:30-2:30 Sunday, 9-3:45 Monday. So I’ll definitely have posts Thursday and Tuesday, probably Sunday, maybe Monday. See how I feel.

Speaking of Thursday, though: I have a job interview! With the local Parks Canada Library! I’m excited. I’d basically given up on job-hunting for the last few months. But I learned of this one, saw it was in town – within walking distance, in fact, even in the winter (I consider 20 minutes to be walking distance) – so I decided to give it a chance. I didn’t even expect an interview. So I’m glad to get an interview. We’ll see how it goes.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

One Comment
  1. I’ve heard good things about the Scarlet Witch series, and Stephanie Hans on art? Might have to check that out.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

