Skip to content

Pull list for October 5 2016

October 4, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #13, by Tom Taylor, Nik Virella, Scott Hanna and Michael Garland; Champions #1, by Mark Waid, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba and Edgar Delgado; Insexts #8, by Marguerite Bennett, Ariela Kristantina.

I’ll also review: Death of X #1, by Jeff Lemire, Charles Soule, Aaron Kuder and Morry Hollowell; Uncanny X-Men #14, by Cullen Bunn, Greg Land, Jay Leisten and David Curiel.

So, 3 comics I’m picking up, and two additional reviews. This is a very light week.

I’ve decided to no review Deadpool’s minis and spin-offs any more. I just . . . I can’t do it any more. Mercs For Money? No. Not going to do it. I’ll keep doing the main Deadpool book. But I just cannot do Mercs For Money any more. Even with Domino and Negasonic Teenage Warhead in the cast . . . I’m done with it. I’ll also skip out on Deadpool: Back In Black. Deadpool’s only tangentially an X-character anyway, and I’m just plain fed up with his comics.

The three comics I’m picking up both look good. Wolverine kicks off its new arc, Enemy of the State II. It looks like it’ll be a much more intense arc than this book has been so far. That should be really cool. I’ve enjoyed Waid on ANAD Avengers, and I look forward to seeing the kids carry on to Champions. I do like stories of superheroes trying to be good and helpful. As for Insexts: Period-piece lesbian-romance body-horror. I mean, come on. The first arc was excellent. I have no reason to expect this second arc to be any less.

My October pull list: Wolverine #13, Squirrel Girl #13, Champions #1, Vision #12, Ms. Marvel #12, Spider-Man/Deadpool #10, Power Man & Iron Fist #9, Silver Surfer #7, ANAD Avengers #15, Silk #13, Hellcat #11, Captain Marvel #10, A-Force #10, Mockingbird #8, New Avengers #17, Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #12, Ultimates #12, Nighthawk #6. 18 titles.

I finished watching Luke Cage. It’s a great show. I’m not woke enough for any intelligent insight into it, but I enjoyed it. The racial elements of it are really interesting to see. The characters are all great, really cool and complex. Cottonmouth is really fun, Mariah is badass, Misty is the frigging best. And hey, Claire Temple is in it! She’s awesome. Screw Iron Fist, do a Claire Temple series. And a Misty Knight series. So, yeah, I enjoy this show. I think, on the whole, I still like Jessica Jones better. But I do like Luke Cage better than Daredevil. If nothing else, I like heroes who aren’t hyper-violent assholes who engage in torture to get information while being absolutely toxic to the people around them. Luke’s a reluctant hero, but he’s a genuinely good guy, and he does learn the value of standing up. So, yeah, I like Luke Cage.

My schedule for the week: 12:45-7:30 Friday, 10:15-4:45 Saturday, 8:30-12:45 Sunday, 10:15-5 Tuesday. So posts on Thursday and Monday, and probably Sunday.

And that’s it for this week.

From → Pull list

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

