Skip to content

Pull list for October 12 2016; Peter David is a racist prick

October 11, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, yay.

I’ll go to the store for: Mosaic #1, by Geoffrey Thorne, Khary Randolph and Emilio Lopez; Power Man & Iron Fist #9, by David Walker, Flaviano, Sanford Greene and John Rauch.

I’ll also review: Deadpool #20, by Gerry Duggan, Matteo Lolli and Guru-eFX; Old Man Logan #12, by Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo.

So that’s . . . wow. Two comics I’m picking up, and two additional reviews. Well that’s lame.

I’m hopeful for Mosaic. I’m picking it up because it has black creators. I like to support diverse creators, because I think it’s important to get those diverse voices in comics. So I’m giving the first issue, at least, a shot. I’m hopeful. And of course, PM&IF is a great series that I highly recommend.

So, it turns out Peter David is kind of a racist asshole. At NYCC over the weekend, there was a panel on LGBT representation. And during the audience question section, someone brought up the poor treatment of the Romani people, and wanting people to stop calling them “Gypsies.” And PAD went on a bit of a rant about the Romani being awful, and shouted the person out of the room. So, yeah, Peter David is a bit of a racist asshole, and I’m not going to be supporting anything he does from now on. Fuck you, Peter David, for attacking an entire ethnic group like that. You’re an asshole and you should be ashamed of yourself. He’s lost himself a fan. I’ve always enjoyed his work. I respected him as a person. I no longer respect him as a person, and I will no longer support his work.

One thing that occurred to me, though: How great would it be if Marvel reached out to creators of Romani heritage? Bring in a Roma writer. I think it’d be really great if Marvel, after seeing Peter David’s racist comments about the Romani, decided to reach out to the Romani community. It’d be a really nice move. It won’t happen, of course. But wouldn’t it be nice?

In more positive news: America! Goddamn! Chavez! Ms. America Chavez solo title! Yes! Finally! Goddamn finally! No word yet on the creative team. My top preference would be for a gay Latina, but either one of those would be fine. Either a gay woman or a Latina. Marvel still has a long way to go in regards to improving diversity on the creative side. They have too few female writers, too few writers of colours, and certainly too few women of colour writers. So this book would be a great place to have a woman of colour, and even better if it’s a gay woman of colour. Regardless, though: Ms. America Chavez solo! Hell yes!

I’ve been reading 13 Ways of Looking At A Fat Girl, by Mona Awad, and it’s great. I’d definitely recommend it. I’ll finish it this week, and post my full review in my next pull list. But speaking of things worth reading: Kickstarter projects! Steampunk Universe: A fully diverse steampunk anthology. It’s an anthology of steampunk stories by diverse creators. I read Steampunk World a few months ago, and I loved it. So this one’s worth backing. Malika: Warrior Queen, a graphic novel with a black creator. Because, as I said before, I feel we need diverse creators, so I put my money where my mouth is on that. And Dangerous Women: Tales of Queer Villainy. An anthology of lesbian villains. Which, come on, that just sounds fun.

On Sunday night, I finished Mass Effect. I’ve been livetweeting my playthrough of it over the past couple months, and I storified it, which you can read here. Or you can read it here. On the whole, I really do love the game. Great story, great characters, great setting, great voice acting. There’s a lot to enjoy. It does have some problems. Weak combat, repetitive sidequests, terrible level design on sidequest planets. But despite those flaws, I had a really fun time playing it. And soon, I’ll start in on 2!

My schedule for the week: 10:30-5:15 Thursday, 8:30-3 Saturday, 11:30-6:16 Sunday. So posts Friday, Monday and Tuesday, and maybe Saturday.

And that’s it for this week!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

