Skip to content

Pull list for November 9 2016; The Presidential Election

November 8, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I hope any Yanks among you remembered to vote today. I’m off tomorrow, which I’m happy about.

I’ll go to the store for: Black Panther World of Wakanda #1, by Roxane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Yona Harvey, Afua Richardson, Alitha Martinez, Rachelle Rosenberg and Tamra Bonvillain; Mosaic #2, by Geoffrey Thorne, Khary Randolph and Emilio Lopez; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #48, by Andy Price and Tony Fleecs; Power Man & Iron Fist #10, by David Walker, Sanford Greene and Lee Loughridge.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #15, by Dennis Hopeless, Mark Bagley, Andrew Hennessy and Nolan Woodard; Uncanny X-Men #15, by Cullen Bunn, Greg Land, Ibraim Roberson, Jay Leisten, Wade Von Grawbadger, Dave Curiel and Jay Ramos. I might review Amazing Spider-Man Renew Your Vows #1, depending largely on my mood and how long it takes to get a digital code. I’m leaning towards not bothering to review it, but we’ll see how I feel.

So, 4 comics I’m picking up, and another two reviews. Fairly light week.

World of Wakanda! Hell yes! Mosaic got off to a great start, so I’m excited for that, and PM&IF is a blast, so I’m glad for that. But World of Wakanda. A gay woman of colour writing a story of gay women of colour. You’re damn right I’m excited for that. Ayo and Aneka have been my favourite part of Coates’ Black Panther, so them getting to lead their own story is very exciting. I’m totally invested in this.

I should actually talk a bit about Renew Your Vows, and why I’m even considering reviewing it. So, I was born in 1985. I grew up in the ’90s. Peter and MJ were married in the comics the whole time I read them. And even in the cartoon, even though they weren’t married, MJ was his primary love interest throughout the show. So I grew up with Peter and MJ being a couple. I didn’t know a time when they weren’t a couple. I stopped reading Spider-Man a little before I stopped reading comics altogether. (I stopped reading comics around ’99 or 2000, I think.) I came back to comics with Civil War, and took out a few Marvel subscriptions, which included Amazing Spider-Man, along with several X-titles. And, again, this was when Peter and MJ were still married. I actually stopped reading Spider-Man not too long after. One More Day hadn’t even been teased when I dropped it; I basically just got bored of it, and focused more on the X-Men. (Side note about my subscriptions: I let them drop because, being in Canada, I got the issues 3 goddamn weeks after their release. No, really, 3 weeks. Which is stupid. I don’t know if Marvel’s changed how they do Canadian subscription fulfillment. But 3 weeks was just stupid, and I wasn’t going to put up with that.) I won’t lie, I thought OMD was a terrible concept, and I disagreed with breaking up the marriage. It also happened at a time when I was just kinda getting over Spider-Man, anyway.

Digression time! I think Peter Parker’s an ass. He really is. Here’s the thing: He’s a superhero out of guilt. That’s his motivation. Over the past few years, I’ve come to dislike that as a motivation for superheroes. Guilt, or grief, or revenge, or whatever. They’re motivated by loss. By an inability to get over that loss. It’s mentally unhealthy, and it’s ultimately a fairly self-centred motivation. Peter doesn’t fight crime because he enjoys helping people, he does it because he feels guilty if he doesn’t. Compare it to Kamala: She hasn’t lost anyone. She’s a superhero because she wants to help people. “Whoever saves one person, it is as if he has saved all mankind.” That’s what motivates her. Spider-Man’s mantra is, “With great power, there must also come great responsibility.” Which isn’t even actually true, but more, it’s about guilt, again. It turns helping people into an obligation, rather than a choice. If Peter had never gotten powers, if he had stayed a normal guy, and he saw someone in trouble, would he have just done nothing? Is that the kind of person he would have been without powers? That’s the implication, isn’t it? Peter Parker is a dick.

Anyway, back to the point. I didn’t like the end of the marriage. I feel it was a mistake. And I appreciate that Renew Your Vows is going back to it, and with a kid, to boot. Peter’s being allowed to be an adult, and that’s great. I hope the book does well, I really do, because I think showing successful marriages in superhero comics is worthwhile, and for a while there, superhero comics moved away from that. Peter and MJ split, Scott and Emma split, DC outright banned marriage (Superman/Lois was another relationship I grew up with – I watched that Lois & Clark show, even, and I enjoyed it!). There was still Reed and Sue, of course. And they did have T’Challa and Storm get married, and Luke and Jessica. So Marvel did still have some marriages. But still, Peter/MJ was one of the biggest marriages in comics. Spider-Man has long been the face of Marvel Comics. So to have their biggest character be happily married was, I think, a positive message. For all that Quesada freaked out about it “aging” Peter, I think he missed the point. Yes, it did “age” him, because he was an adult. Most comic readers are adults. I would guess that a pretty large portion of Spider-Man fans are married, themselves. So Peter being married? It didn’t make him unrelatable.

But whatever. RYV. I’m glad it exists. Yay for the Spider-Marriage. Even if I don’t actually care enough to buy the comic, but that’s what digital codes are for.

On another topic, today is, of course, the US election. I’m Canadian, so obviously, I’m not voting. Personally, I don’t much like either candidate. I don’t like Hillary Clinton. She’s a hard centrist, which is distinct from being a moderate. She’s very much into government and corporations having a friendly relationship. I think government and corporations should have an antagonistic relationship. Government should be all about limiting the harm corporations can cause. So, for example, after the 2008 economic collapse, steps should have been taken to start breaking up the biggest banks, so they would no longer be “too big to fail.” That sort of thing. But Bill Clinton helped to make that situation possible in the first place, and I doubt that Hillary Clinton learned the lessons. She’s also more hawkish than I would prefer. And there are other misgivings I have about her, as well.

Of course, I would still consider her a less harmful option than pretty much anyone the Republicans could have run. And then the Republicans nominated Donald frigging Trump. And, I mean . . . why? Why is Trump? The man is awful. Just, like, generally. He’s racist. He’s sexist. He’s homophobic. And he’s a terrible businessman. The man is not actually good at anything. He’s not even actually good at selling himself, even if he has been successful at it. He’s good at throwing money at things. That is all he is capable of. He can buy things. The things he buy probably won’t do well. If he’s involved in running them, they definitely won’t go well. But he sure does know how to throw money at things. (Except charity, of course.) The man is a complete and total idiot. He has no frigging clue about anything. And he thinks he’s an expert on everything, which should honestly be a pretty good clue about how stupid he is. Anyone who thinks they’re an expert on everything can be safely dismissed as knowing jack shit about anything. I mean, isn’t that how everyone talks about being a teenager? As a teen, you know everything, and then you grow up and realize how little you knew. Trump never grew up. He still thinks he knows everything. That’s scary.

South Park popularized the idea of elections being a choice between a Giant Douche and a Turd Sandwich. (For the record, Giant Douche is waaaay funnier.) And people continue to present it that way this time around. But it’s not. That’s not the choice. It’s a choice between a Giant Douche and a stupid, racist, xenophobic, homophobic, sexist, sexual assault-committing, giant pile of shit that will burn down the goddamn country, and drag a pretty big chunk of the rest of the world with him. There is no equivalency here. Clinton is a completely-qualified candidate with some problematic positions. Trump is a disaster. Trump cannot be allowed to win. A Clinton presidency would, at worst, result in a couple more wars. But social issues would continue to progress, and the economy would continue to be steady. A Trump presidency would hurt everything. There would be more wars, probably more than Clinton would start. But he would also push back against the progress of social issues (his choice for Vice-President supports fucking torturing gay people), and the economy would tank.

I don’t like Clinton. But the idea of Trump becoming President frigging terrifies me. So hell yeah I’m hoping Clinton wins. Luckily, it looks like she will win. I figure it’ll probably be mostly-decided by 7 or 8.

My schedule for the week: 6:15-11 Thursday, 4:15-11 Friday, 3:45-10:30 Sunday, 6:30-10:45 Monday. So, posts Saturday and Tuesday.

And that’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

