Skip to content

Pull List for November 23 2016; Songs That Make Me Happy

November 22, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). Ms. America’s solo has a writer! I’m off tomorrow, so reviews shouldn’t be too late.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Marvel #10, by Ruth and Christos Gage, Thony Silas and Matthew Wilson; Jem & the Holograms #21, by Kelly Thompson, Meredith McClaren; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #13, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos, Leonard Kirk and Tamra Bonvillain; My Little Pony Friends Forever #34, by Thom Zahler and Agnes Garbowska; Snotgirl #4, by Bryan Lee O’Malley, Leslie Hung and Mickey Quinn; Ultimates 2 #1, by Al Ewing and Travel Foreman.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men Annual, by Sina Grace, Cory Smith, Andres Mossa, Rex Ogle, Andrea Broccardo and Rachelle Rosenberg; Civil War II #7, by Brian bendis, David Marquez and Justin Ponsor; Death of X #4, by Charles Soule, Jeff Lemire, Aaron Kuder, Javier Garron, Jay Leisten, Jay David Ramos and Morry Hollowell; X-Men ’92 #9, by Chad Bowers, Chris Sims, Alti Firmansyah and Matt Milla.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and another 4 reviews. Pretty big week.

Lots of good stuff! The current volume of Captain Marvel wraps up. Moon Girl begins the arc declaring her the Smartest Person In the World, and the book’s always delightful, so yay. Ultimates 2 starts up, and the first volume was awesome, with big crazy sci-fi ideas, and now they’re going to be working with Galactus, so this should be pretty awesome. Jem and Snotgirl are both great non-Marvel comics, with Snotgirl building a fascinating story that’s equal parts hilarious and unsettling. So, yeah, good comics.

February solicits are out. My Marvel pull list for that month: All-New X-Men #1.MU, Avengers #4, Black Panther #11, Champions #5, Hawkeye #3, Unstoppable Wasp #2, All-New Wolverine #17, Ms. Marvel #15, Power Man & Iron Fist #13, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #17, World of Wakanda #4, Gamora #3, Occupy Avengers #4, Hellcat #15, Silk #17, Captain Marvel #2, US Avengers #3, Ultimates 2 #4, Champions #1.MU, Ghost Rider #4, Hulk #3, Moon Girl #16, Mosaic #5, Spider-Man/Deadpool #14. 24 comics! Ouch. That hurts. A lot.

So Ms. America’s solo has (most of) a creative team announced! The colour artist and letterer aren’t announced yet, which is kind of a shame. Come on, Marvel, the whole creative team deserves love. But anyway! Writer and line artist! It’ll be written by Gabby Rivera, and drawn by Joe Quinones. Rivera, for the record, is a queer Latina. And she will be writing a book about a queer Latina. And I think that’s fantastic news. It’s exactly what I was hoping for, honestly. Rivera comes from a YA literature background – she had a well-received novel this year, Juliet Takes A Breath, which I will probably read sometime soon. So this will be her first comic work. But I’m confident she’ll adapt well. And I’m just glad they got a gay Latina to write America. Diverse characters are important, but diverse creators matter more, and I am absolutely on board with Marvel’s efforts in that direction. Because, in 2017, we’ll have Gabby Rivera on America, half-black/half-Latino Felipe Smith on Ghost Rider, Asian-Canadian Mariko Tamaki on She-Hulk, Ta-Nehisi Coates continuing on Black Panther, David Walker continuing on Power Man & Iron Fist and Occupy Avengers, Geoffrey Thorne continuing on Mosaic, G. Willow Wilson continuing on Ms. Marvel, queer Kate Leth continuing on Hellcat, and that’s just the writers. Even more diversity with artists. And a few other female writers, as well, of course. Of course, nice as this is, it’s still not enough, and we need to keep pushing more Marvel to keep up these efforts. But still, I think it’s great that they are trying, and I think it deserves recognition. Keep it up, Marvel.

In similar news, they just today announced Saladin Ahmed would be writing a Black Bolt solo. Which . . . I have mixed feelings about. Because I hate Black Bolt. So much. I think he’s an asshole. I don’t want to read a book he’s in. But . . . I want to support diverse creators. So I’m torn between my support of diverse creators and my dislike of Black Bolt. I’ll probably pick up the first issue, but it’ll have to really wow me. But what’s hilarious is, just last night, I went on a bit of a Twitter rant about why I hate Black Bolt. And then, the very next day, Marvel announces a Black Bolt solo with a POC writer. I see your game, Marvel.

So, for the past couple weeks, I’ve talked about Bad Things. The ways in whihc Trump and the Republicans will screw people over. But! I figured, this week, I would instead talk about good things. Specifically. Some songs that make me happy. I’ll start with Priscilla Ahn. Now, there are a lot of her songs that I adore and which make me happy. There’s Dream, which is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard, about living a happy life, and which never fails to bring tears to my eyes, because seriously, it is beautiful. There’s Country Road, a cover of a Japanese version of an old James Taylor song, and which is just really pretty. There’s Kaze wo Atsumete, which, despite me having no idea what she’s saying, just sounds so happy. There’s I Am Not Alone, which is inexplicably not on YouTube, though I wouldn’t have gone with it here anyway.

Instead, I’m going with a sad song, Fine On the Outside.

So, yeah, this is a sad song. So why does it make me happy? Because I can relate to quite a bit of it. A lack of friends that taught me to keep even more to myself? Yep. And the chorus, about sitting about in my room and wondering if anyone cares about me? Yep. The song speaks to me, in a lot of ways. And it makes me feel less alone. It’s always a reminder that other people go through the same thing, that there are people out there who understand me, even if they have no idea I even exist. That’s a nice feeling. So despite how sad this song is, it also makes me feel better.

On a completely different note:

Yep. I think it’s easy to see why this song makes me happy: It is catchy as hell. It’s a great, fun, high-energy and positive song, one that demands you move. I am incapable of sitting still when this song plays. I can’t do it. If I was ever at a club, for some reason we won’t even try to figure out, and this song started playing, I would have no choice but to go out on the dance floor and flail like an idiot. I love everything about this song.

I love everything by the Heartless Bastards. The one that makes me happiest is Swamp Song, which isn’t on YouTube, so instead, I’ll go with Gray.

This is the first song on their first album. And it’s one hell of an introduction. Just some awesome blues-rock awesomeness. I mean, just listen to that song. It rocks. Erika Wennerstrom wails like Joplin. They’re my favourite band, and I have to say, this song is part of the reason why. Like I said, it’s a hell of an introduction.

Electric Twist, by A Fine Frenzy.

This song’s just really nice. It’s cute. I love the lyrics. “The touch of your lips, it’s a shock, not a kiss.” That’s really cute. Also, that is a really smooth beat all through the song.

That’s Not My Name, by the Ting Tings, is frigging awesome on its own, but I love this mash-up.

This is another song that demands you move. Good beat, awesome vocals, and just a really cool, fun song. It’s one of my favourite songs, and it never fails to make me feel good, just by being so damn cool.

A Better Son/Daughter, by Rilo Kiley.

I think what I like most about this song is that it’s realistically optimistic. “You’ll be positive, though it hurts.” It’s a song about how, no matter how bad things are, you’ll manage. That’s a really nice message. It’s encouraging. Plus, it’s a solid song even aside from that. I love the drumbeat through the song.

We Are the Pipettes, by the Pipettes.

It’s three cool, pretty girls boasting about how cool and pretty they are while doing a synchronized dance routine. I mean, what’s not to love? Even without the video, this song makes you want to dance, and it’s still fun and cute and just a delight.

Dog Days Are Over, by Florence + the Machine.

Do I need to explain why this song makes me happy?

And Pants, by Lemuria.

Again, it’s fun and cute and rocks well. And again, there’s some lyrics that just delight me. “I told you last, you gave me butterflies. You surprise me with new cocoons every time they start to fly. . . . Your response was comforting. I guess, I guess I gave you butterflies too!” That’s just so cute.

There’s a lot more songs I could include. But I’ll leave it therefor now. Maybe I’ll do another list another week.

My schedule for this week: 10:30-5:15 Thursday, 4:15-11:15 Friday, 11:30-8 Saturday, 1:30-10 Sunday, 4:45-10:45 Tuesday. So Monday will be my only post. Bleh.

That’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

