Skip to content

Pull list for December 7 2016; Resurrxion

December 6, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off again tomorrow, woot.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #15, by Tom Taylor, Nik Virella; Avengers #2, by Mark Waid and Mike Del Mundo; Champions #3, by Mark Waid, Humberto Ramos; The Wicked + The Divine #24, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie and Matt Wilson.

I’ll also review: Deadpool #23, by Gerry Duggan, Matteo Lolli.

So that’s 4 books I’m picking up, and one additional review. Wow, light week.

Some good stuff, though. Enemy of the State II still has me excited, even if last issue felt like it dropped the ball a bit. And if nothing else, Gabby is eternally wonderful. Avengers got off to a fantastic start, with a great cliffhanger, and Mike Del goddamn Mundo is on art, and there is no such thing as a bad Del Mundo comic. And WicDiv is WicDiv. As for Champions, well . . . I’ll talk about that in a moment.

So it turns out Animosity #1 is on its fifth printing. Nice. Kudos to the whole team. It’s a great comic and I highly recommend it.

I should give some thoughts on Resurrxion. I talked last week about how disappointed I am with Blue and Gold. Screw those books. Iceman is a character I’ve never cared about, so I’m not buying his solo. Still, it’s one I’m expecting to be good. Dennis Hopeless on Jean Grey wasn’t what I was hoping – I hoped for another female writer – but he’s a great writer and it’ll be a great book. Weapon X has Greg Land on art, so a hard pass on that. The cast seems reasonably cool. Old Man Logan (who will also be in X-Men Gold), Warpath, Domino, Sabretooth and Lady Deathstrike. Two of five are POC, which is actually more than Blue and Gold combined. So that’s nice. Lady Deathstrike is an amusing addition, as Logan recently made a joke about making her an X-Man, and her replied that she’d never join. Also interesting that two of Logan’s old enemies are there. Good to see Domino and Warpath, they’re both great characters. Pak will probably do a good job on the writing. But being saddled with Land is going to hurt it a lot. And we don’t know anything about Cable, but I can’t imagine there’ll be anything about it that really excites me.

Ultimately, I’m only going to be buying one X-title, still. Generation X. It’ll be written by Christina Strain, who identifies as Hapa, meaning she’s mixed-race. In her case, part-Korean. So a woman of colour on an X-title? Hell yes, I will check that out, given my rant last week. (Funny note: There are two non-white writers on X-titles in Resurrxion. Both are Korean-American. Odd how that happened.) The art is by Amilcar Pinna, who’s got a really cool style, one well-suited to a youth team. The line-up has me mixed. Jubilee! Yay! Jubilee is awesome and I’ve always loved her. Bling! will be there, and I really like her, and it’s cool to see a black lesbian continue getting use, so that’s cool. Benjamin Deeds, also gay, is a character I liked in Bendis’ UXM run. I thought he was a neat character with a lot of potential. Nature Girl, from Jason Latour’s WatXM, who’s pretty much a non-character. He never bothered to give her a personality. Still, we do know she’s Asian, or of Asian descent, so it’s more racial diversity. We’ll see how Strain actually develops her. There’s a new character, a Korean-American guy, but obviously, I can’t say how I feel about him yet. The problem is the last two characters. Eye-Boy and Quentin Quire. Two characters I hated from Aaron’s abysmal WatXM run. I always thought Eye-Boy was stupid, and the only writer who’s ever made Quire worth reading was Grant Morrison. Every other writer missed the entire point of the character. They want to write him as a cool bad boy with a good heart. The thing is, he’s not supposed to be cool. He was never cool. He was an unpopular nerd who embraced counter-culture as a way of lashing out against learning some traumatic things, but he was still a loser who attracted other losers. But Aaron reimagined him into something completely different, in order to fill an archetype, because Aaron was more interested in archetypes than characters.

So Quire’s presence is disappointing. Still, I’ll get Generation X. Strain has talked about wanting to include tons of guest stars, and given Blue and Gold both decided that diversity is for losers, Generation X will be our best chance for seeing mutants who aren’t straight white dudes. (Though, again, Gold can get my support by having Kitty and Rachel be in an official romantic relationship.)

A major concern, though: Where the hell is Laura? Where is Best Wolverine? She’s not on any of the teams, and there’s no confirmation if her solo will continue. Tom Taylor has said there will be news soon. I’ve seen speculation that she’ll be part of an All-New New Fantastic Four, which would be odd. The original New Fantastic Four (from an arc of Walter Simonson’s Fantastic Four run) was Spider-Man, Hulk (then in his jerky grey identity), the Daniel Ketch Ghost Rider, and Logan. The All-New New Fantastic Four would be Laura, Robbie Reyes, Amadeus Cho, and Silk. Three characters I love, plus Cho. It would be a fun team book, but I’d hate to lose Laura’s solo, because it’s so good. But we’ll have to wait and see.

So, Champions. I’m on the verge of dropping it. This issue is its last chance to actually impress me. I wanted to like this book. I tried to tell myself I liked it. But it’s just not very good. The art is actively off-putting, and the writing is really weak. The fact that the second issue dedicated half its space to reviewing information easily included on a recap page, or with captions within the story, was ridiculous. My pull list is going to be growing a lot as Now continues, so cutting books I’m just not enjoying enough will become a necessity. And Champions is the book I enjoy least, of everything I’m buying. (I honestly have no idea what else I can put on the endangered list, though. I’m getting a lot of great books. I thoroughly enjoy them all.)

A couple books I finished, that I should mention. Singular Irregularity: Tales of Time Travel Gone Wrong. An anthology of short stories about time travel.

This is a great anthology. All the stories are really good. Some are better than others, of course, and some will resonate with some people more than others. But they’re all good stories, well-written and interesting. Some are tense, some are funny, some are bittersweet, there’s a very nice variety of tones and styles. The ones I like best are the ones that dwell the least on the science. I do wish there’d been a little more racial diversity among the writers, though that’s not a knock against any of the writers who contributed.

This was really good. I recommend it.

Olive and the Underworld, by Emily Felt and Laura West

This is delightful. I loved this. It’s really good. Olive is an immediately endearing character, a goth who’s very clever and creative. No one understands her, because she’s surrounded by people who are just too normal. When she ends up in Purgatory, she’s delighted, because it’s weird and wonderful in a way she gets. So seeing her adjust is a lot of fun. The art is really good, too. It’s a very cute, bright style, that complements the writing perfectly.

This is great. I definitely recommend it.

I’m really looking forward to more of this series. I will absolutely back the next volume. And IF Anthology, a comic anthology ostensibly revolving around superheroics, though it’s actually much broader than that.

This was pretty OK. It wasn’t as good as I’d hoped. It’s an anthology of comics, most of them hero-themed. Some were pretty fun. A couple were really weak. Most were just OK. Most anthologies I back, I love. But this didn’t thrill me. The art, for the most part, is good, though again, little of it is really exceptional. In both writing and art, none of the stories really stood out to me in such a way as to make me want to read more by the creators. I enjoyed reading this, but I don’t know that I’d necessarily recommend it.

I’m currently reading Fitting In, a prose anthology set around the idea of monsters as metaphors for being an outsider. It’s really good. When I’m done, I’ll read the two graphic novels I’ve gotten for Christmas.

My friend and I did our gift exchange on Saturday. We don’t often see each other, since she lives over an hour away, so we met up when we had the chance. I got her Lush bath bombs and Yves Rocher perfume. She got me Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong, by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks; Lucky Penny, by Ananth Hirsh and Yuko Ota; and The Psychology of Superheroes. Look, I enjoy reading books that use superheroes to explore academic topics.

In theory, I should probably do a 2016 In Review post. I probably won’t bother. You want my review for this year? Just read through all my blog posts for this year. I’m lazy. Some comics were good, some were not. Captain America: Civil War was pretty good, Dr. Strange can go to hell for whitewashing the Ancient One. Rogue One looks awesome. I read some good books, and some weak ones. On a larger scale, the year was an absolute shitshow. On a personal level, it was a retread of 2015. It’s just not really worth talking about any of it.

My schedule for the week: 10:30-5:15 Thursday, 10:45-5:30 Friday, 9:15-4 Saturday, 11:45-8:15 Sunday, 4:15-10:45 Tuesday. So I’ll probably only post on Monday. Maybe I’ll get one up on Saturday, we’ll see how I feel.

And that’s it for this week.

 

Update: This is my 1000th post on WordPress. Holy crap.

From → Pull list

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

