Skip to content

Pull list for December 14 2016

December 13, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I have strep throat. It sucks. Here’s what I’m reading tomorrow.

I’ll go to the store for: Hawkeye #1, by Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero and Jordie Bellaire; Mosaic #3, by Geoffrey Thorne, Khary Randolph, Thony Silas and Emilio Lopez; My Little Pony Friends Forever #35, by Rob Anderson and Jay Fosgitt; Power Man & Iron Fist #11, by David Walker, Sanford Greene and Lee Loughridge; Silk #15, by Robbie Thompson, Irene Strychalski, Ian Herring and Irma Kniivila; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #15, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Michael Cho, Zac Gorman and Rico Renzi.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #16, by Dennis Hopeless, Mark Bagley, Andrew Hennessy and Nolan Woodard; Inhumans vs. X-Men #1, by Charles Soule, Jeff Lemire, Leinil Yu, Garry Alanguilan and David Curiel; Old Man Logan #15, by Jeff Lemire, Filipe Andrade and Jordie Bellaire.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and another 3 reviews. Pretty heavy week.

Lots of good stuff. Mew issue! Squirrel Girl is Mew issue! Issue about Mew! Mew is Nancy’s cat! So it’s an issue about a cat! Like the Hawkeye “Pizza Dog” issue, but with a cat! Yay! Speaking of Hawkeye, the new Kate Bishop, aka Best Hawkeye, solo starts. That should be a lot of fun. Kate is such a fun character. And Thompson’s a fun writer. So that should be good. Mosaic has been interesting, and looks like it’s going to do more to explore his power. PM&IF is always great, and the gang war in Harlem looks like it’ll be a great arc. Silk is always good, and I’m digging Strychalski’s art. It’s really pretty. And Squirrel Girl is Mew!

We have confirmation that All-New Wolverine will be continuing. Leonard Kirk will be taking over art duties on #19, but given this book has changed artists constantly, I wouldn’t bet on him sticking around. Apparently, Laura’s changing her costume, too. It’ll be dark grey, and bulletproof. Which is kind of an interesting angle. But mostly, I’m just glad the book’s sticking around, because it’s been the best X-title of the past year.

So I’m not actually going to talk about anything else here. I have little to talk about anyway, but more to the point, I don’t feel like it. Let me tell you how my week’s gone. Wednesday night, I suddenly found myself feeling really cold. Just freezing. I couldn’t stop shivering. That broke, but I still didn’t get any sleep that night, and in the morning, I had a sore throat, so I decided to call in sick. Figured it was just a cold, I’d be fine, it’d suck for a few days, but whatever. I got no sleep that night, either, because my throat was still sore. And when I’m tired, my neck tends to get really sore, too, so those two things made sleep difficult. But hey, I’ve pushed myself through work on no sleep before, so I went in. After 3 hours, I just couldn’t deal any more and went back home. Once again, I got no sleep that night, and I came to the realization that I probably had strep throat. So here’s where things get fun.

Saturday morning, I went to a walk-in medical clinic. I got there at around 9:20. They told me it would be about an hour. Fine, whatever. Four. Hours. It was three-and-a-half hours in the waiting room, then another half hour in the exam room. So four. Frigging. Hours. To see the doctor. For an exam that took two minutes. To confirm: Yep! Strep throat! And the chairs in the waiting room weren’t comfortable. They didn’t even have armrests, which would have made things a lot better. So four hours, in discomfort, with every swallow being agony, after three nights without sleep. So by the time I got checked, I was exhausted and I was starving and I just wanted to leave. But, I had to get my prescriptions. The antibiotics cost $30, so not bad, but she also prescribed a gargling solution to help with the pain. That one cost $130. And I figured I’d get reimbursed through my medical plan at work, but when I went in to drop off my doctor’s note for a few days off work, I asked about my medical benefits, and it turns out . . . I have none. I’m part-time, so I get fuck-all! So that’s $130 I just had to swallow, when swallowing anything was agonizing. Oh, and that night? No. Frigging. Sleep. Again. Sore throat. Hurt to swallow. Sore neck. Just generally feeling shitty.

And you know, this is, as best I can recall, the first time in my life I’ve ever had to take antibiotics. And I feel like I probably should’ve been expecting something like this. 2016’s been an all-around shitshow, but it’s been mostly more of the same for me, no big changes for good or ill, just more of the same mediocrity from 2015. I should’ve known this year would do something to fuck me over. So here I am. Strep throat, swallowing hurts, I’m not sleeping, and I had to pay $160 for medicine at the same time I’m missing a week of work. Merry Fucking Christmas To Me.

And that’s why I didn’t post anything this past week.

My schedule for this week: 4:30-10:45 Thursday, 11:30-4:30 Friday, and I actually have no idea after that because I haven’t had a chance to check my schedule for next week yet, but I’ll probably work all weekend, because that’s just how it works.

Fuck this past week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

