Skip to content

Pull list for January 4 2016

January 3, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m starting the new year off with a cold, woo. Here’s what I’ll talk about tomorrow.

I’ll go to the store for: Avengers #3, by Mark Waid, Mike Del Mundo and Marco D’Alfonso; Hawkeye #2, by Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero and Jordie Bellaire; Jem & the Holograms #25, by Kelly Thompson and Meredith McClaren; Unstoppable Wasp #1, by Jeremy Whitley, Elsa Charretier and Matt Wilson; US Avengers #1, by Al Ewing, Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco and Jesus Aburtov; The Wicked + The Divine #25, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie and Matt Wilson.

I’ll also review: Old Man Logan #16, by Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and one additional review. Odd week for me.

And they’re all exciting comics! The Waid/Del Mundo Avengers has been fantastic so far; the two work really well together, managing to give it a feel that’s at once classic and modern. Hawkeye’s first issue was a lot of fun, and I’m sure that’ll continue. Jem is one of the best comics coming out these days. Wasp looks cool; Whitley’s Princesless and Raven: Pirate Princess comics are among the top all-ages comics out there, and the preview for Wasp #1 is adorable. US Avengers is carrying on the insanity of New Avengers – the preview has a Helicarrier that’s also a volcano base. Which is amazing. And WicDiv is just horrible fun every month.

I read Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong, by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks. My review:

This was a lot of fun. It’s a great book. A strong blend of humour and drama. It also does a really good job uncovering the layers of the characters. Nate and the cheerleaders start off coming across as crazy jerks, but as the story develops, more and more of their empathy comes across. The head cheerleader smiling at one of the robot-making girls might be one of my favourite panels, just because it shows how far along things have come, in a short time. The student council election lends itself to plenty of comedy, while Charlie’s tension with his parents provides a lot of emotional weight all through the issue. Hicks’ art is characteristically wonderful. Very cartoonish, which makes it very expressive. She sells the comedic moments perfectly, and that helps make the dramatic moments work even better, as well.

Great book. I definitely recommend it.

Hicks is such a great artist. I definitely recommend everything she’s ever done.

So I feel like I’m burned out. Just in general. Haven’t been doing any of the things I normally like doing. Especially reading. I need to get back into better habits. But bleh. Lazy and bored and apathetic. Ah, well.

My schedule for the week: 3:45-10:45 tomorrow, 2:45-11:15 Friday, 11-5:45 Saturday, 10-4:45 Sunday, 8:45-5:15 Monday. So there should be posts Thursday and Tuesday, assuming I can push myself to do them.

And that’s all I’ve actually got for this week.

From → Pull list

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

