Skip to content

Pull list for January 18 2017

January 17, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work tomorrow, but not too late, so reviews should go up.

I’ll go to the store for: Black Panther World of Wakanda #3, by Roaxane Gay, Alitha Martinez, Roberto Poggi and Rachelle Rosenberg; Gamora #2, by Nicole Perlman, Marco Checchetto and Andres Mossa; Mighty Captain Marvel #1, by Margaret Stohl, Ramon Rosanas and Michael Garland; Mosaic #4, by Geoffrey Thorne, Khary Randolph, Thony Silas and Emilio Lopez; Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! #14, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and Rachelle Rosenberg; USAvengers #2, by Al Ewing, Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco and Jesus Aburtov; Ultimates 2 #3, by Al Ewing, Travel Foreman and Dan Brown.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #17, by Dennis Hopeless, Mark Bagley, Andrew Hennessy and Nolan Woodard.

Deadpool and the Mercs For Money is doing an IvX tie-in, but since Marvel’s decided to be assholes and end their free digital copies program, and I’m not paying to read that shitty series, I won’t be reading that issue.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and one additional review. Jeez. Lots to pick up.

But lots of good stuff! WoW hasn’t been the best-written story, it has definite problems, but I’m still enjoying it, and I think the relationship between Aneka and Ayo has been written really well. Gamora got off to a bit of a weak start, but I’m willing to give it some time to grow. We’ll see if Perlman improves. Captain Marvel #0 showed a lot of promise, and I am interested in seeing what Stohl does with the book. Assuming she sticks around longer than the first arc. Mosaic’s been cool. Again, it has some rough edges to work out, but it’s intriguing, and it’s got a ton of potential. Hellcat is always wonderful. Fun and heartfelt. I love it. USAvengers was always going to have my money, but the Helivolcano in the first issue reassured me that this series will be totally amazeballs. And Ultimates 2 is continuing to be awesome with big cosmic ideas. So it’s a good week.

So, as I mentioned, Marvel’s ended their program where you get a free digital copy of the comics you buy. This is bullshit. It is such bullshit. So, here’s some quick history. When they first implemented the program, it was on select books, which they charged an extra dollar for. Eventually, they raised the price across the line, but also included the digital copies. Which cost them nothing. They were not losing money by including the digital copies. I suspect it made them money – after all, it allowed people to try a series for free, and if they liked it, they might start buying it. That happened to me with All-New Wolverine and Vision. I doubt I’m alone in that.

I imagine Marvel’s thinking here is that people trading digital codes was resulting in lower sales. So by taking the code away, now the people will just pay for the books. But they won’t. I guarantee they won’t. No one who was reading Captain Samerica via digital code is going to switch to paying for it. It may result in some of the people who were buying the book physically to switch entirely to digital, which does make Marvel more money, but screws over the retailers. This change is going to hurt retailers, have no doubt about that.

Meanwhile, digital copies will still cost as much as physical copies, even though they cost less to produce. Which is stupid. Digital should be cheaper. But nope, Marvel are greedy assholes. It’s getting harder and harder, all the time, to support them. It really is. It’s like Marvel wants to turn readers away. Bunch of assholes.

Oh, also? Making Civil War II one of the comics included in the new “you’ll take what we give you and you’ll fucking like it” digital code program? What. The. Fuck. Everyone who gave half a shit about that book has already read it, you shit-gargling cock-wranglers. No one benefits from this. No one. Not one single person will be excited at getting a free digital copy of CWII. The people who wanted to read it already bought it. Know how I know? Because it was Marvel’s top-selling comic. By a large margin. So CWII being one of the issues included is a big “fuck you” to everyone. Because the people who bought that event get no added benefit, and the people who didn’t buy it didn’t want to buy it, and this is Marvel trying to push it on them. Either way, no one’s getting any added benefit from this. If they have to change the program to be them telling people what they’re going to read, then at least use it to push under-appreciated books. Instead of including Amazing Spider-Man – which they will absolutely do – include Silk. Instead of Invincible Iron Man, go with Moon Girl. But no, it’s pretty easy to predict what Marvel’s approach will be. They’re going to use the digital code program to push the books that already get the best sales, because they’re fucking idiots.

I backed Undercities, an anthology of queer stories in an urban fantasy setting, by queer and POC creators. Support diverse creators!

I’ve been reading Juliet Takes A Breath, by Gabby Rivera. I’m reading it in anticipation of Rivera launching America. My expectations for America have gone up. It’s a great book. Definitely worth reading.

I’ve been in a funk for the past month. No real will to do anything. Which is why I didn’t post anything this past week. Just couldn’t get myself motivated to do it. Just feeling generally burnt out, I guess. I could use some kind of recharge. Something to pick me up. I don’t know, maybe I should watch some Ghibli movies again. But I don’t want to watch Ghibli movies by myself. Bleh, being single sucks so much.

My schedule for the week: 3:15-10 Friday, 12-6:45 Saturday, 11:45-6:30 Sunday, 11:15-6 Monday. So I’ll try to do posts Thursday and Tuesday.

And that’s it for this week.

One Comment
  1. Yeah, Marvel’s decision to drop the free digital copy program is boneheaded. I know you don’t like DC, but most of their comics are now $2.99. The free digital copy was the only advantage that Marvel had over them from a value perspective. I’m probably going to cut back on my Marvel purchases because of this.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

