Skip to content

Pull list for January 25 2017

January 24, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, yay.

I’ll go to the store for: Animosity The Rise, by Marguerite Bennett, Juan Doe; Black Panther #10, by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Brian Stelfreeze, Karl Story, Laura Martin and Joe Sabino; Ghost Rider #3, by Felipe Smith, Danillo Beyruth and Jesus Aburtov; Hulk #2, by Mariko Tamaki, Nico Leon, Dalibor Talajic, Matt Milla and Cory Petit; Jem & the Holograms #23, by Kelly Thompson, Meredith McClaren; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #15, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; My Little Pony Friends Forever #36, by Christina Rice, Tony Fleecs.

I’ll also review: Extraordinary X-Men #18, by Jeff Lemire, Victor Ibanez, Andrea Sorrentino, Jay David Ramos, Marcelo Miaolo and Joe Caramagna; IvX #3, by Jeff Lemire, Charles Soule, Javier Garron, Andres Mossa, Jay David Ramos and Clayton Cowles.

So 7 comics I’m picking up, and 2 extra reviews. Pretty decent week. Side note, I’m adding letterer credits (when it doesn’t take extra effort to find them), because they deserve credit, too.

Good stuff! Animosity! This is a one-shot special about events following the animals waking. Which means it’s bound to be creepy as shit. Jem is always great, and I do love McClaren’s art so much. Black Panther’s been fascinating, and this issue seems to have quite a bit of Shuri, and she’s been great. Hulk got off to a fantastic start, and I am so excited to see where it goes and the exploration of PTSD. Ghost Rider’s got the wrong choice of opening arc, but it looks like he’ll be fighting Cho, so that should be pretty fun. And Moon Girl is always wonderful. Riri Williams will have a cameo in this issue. I actually don’t know much about her, so it’ll be interesting to see how she’s depicted here.

Deadpool also comes out this week, but Marvel doesn’t want me reading it any more, so I’ll concede to their wishes and ignore Deadpool’s solo from now on.

The April solicits are out. My pull list: All-New Wolverine #19, America #2, Avengers #6, Hawkeye #5,  Unstoppable Wasp #4, Black Panther & the Crew #1, Ghost Rider #6, Mosaic #7, Power Man & Iron Fist #15, Silver Surfer #11, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #19, Ms. Marvel #17, Silk #19, USAvengers #5, Black Panther #13, Gamora #5 (maybe), Hulk #5, Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #18, Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! #17, Mighty Captain Marvel #4, Ultimates 2 #6. So 21 comics. Whew.

I finished Juliet Takes A Breath, by Gabby Rivera. My review:

This is great. It’s an excellent read. It’s all about a lesbian Latina learning about life, feminism, and pride. Learning to be proud of who she is. It explores a lot of issues related to identity politics. Things like intersectional feminism, gender identification, racial and cultural pride, and all sorts of things like that. We watch Juliet learn about all these complicated things, and we see them made simple. But it also gets into really personal issues. Break-ups, hero worship and the disappointment of learning how flawed your idols can be, struggling with self-confidence. And lots more. The book covers a lot of ground, really, and makes it all compelling. Juliet, as the narrator, has a great voice, easy to relate to while also being very well-defined.

This is a great book. You should definitely read it.

Rivera’s going to be writing America, and I was already excited for it, but now I’m even more confident that it’s going to be great.

So I’m still feeling burned out. I don’t know what it is. Just a rough patch, I guess. Just feeling generally miserable, bored, lonely, unsatisfied and unfulfilled. I need to get out of this damn town. But it’s hard finding the energy to look for a job. I definitely need to do it, though. My friend suggested I take a call centre job in Ottawa. I’d hate to go back to a call centre job, though. It’s soul-crushing shit. But my soul already feels pretty crushed, so I don’t know.

My schedule for the week: 11:45-6:30 Thursday, goddamn 7-3:30 Saturday, 11-7:30 Sunday, 10:45-5:30 Monday, 12-6:15 Tuesday. So Friday’s the only day that might have a post.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

One Comment
  1. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and I’ve nominated you for the blogger recognition award.

    https://thecomicvault.wordpress.com/2017/01/25/blogger-recognition-award/comment-page-1/#comment-282

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

