Skip to content

Pull List for February 1 2017

January 31, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, yay.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New X-Men #1.MU, by Jeremy Whitley, Carlo Barberi, Ron Lim, Terry Pallot, Walden Wong and Cris Peter; Avengers #4, by Mark Waid, Mike Del Mundo and Marco D’Alfonso; Hawkeye #3, by Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero and Jordie Bellaire; Jem Misfits #2, by Kelly Thompson, Jenn St. Onge; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #50, by Ted Anderson, Andy Price; Unstoppable Wasp #2, by Jeremy Whitley, Elsa Charretier and Matthew Wilson.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #18, by Dennis Hopeless, Mark Bagley, Andrew Hennessy and Nolan Woodard; Old Man Logan #17, by Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and two additional reviews. Pretty good week.

Good stuff. The ANXM:MU story should be good. Jeremy Whitley’s fantastic. Avengers has been excellent, especially with Mike Del Mundo on art. So gorgeous. Hawkeye’s hit the ground running, and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. The Jem series has been brilliant, one of the best comics out there, and the first issue of Misfits kept up that high quality. And Wasp got off to a wonderful start, and she’s about to meet Moon Girl so yay.

I read Kim & Kim Vol. 1, by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera and Imogen Binnie. My review:

This kicked ass. It’s crazy fun, full of dumb laughs but also lots of heart. The Kims are each fun in their own way, though I’ve gotta give the love to Kim Q. smacking people with a guitar. Kim Q is also trans, which is handled really well, which is unsurprising given writer Magdalene Visaggio is trans. Kim Q’s trans status isn’t something that’s brought up constantly, but it’s casually referenced a few times when she speaks of her past. It’s always great to see trans representation in comics, especially with a badass woman who smacks people with a guitar and who can also be amusingly thick. The plot is fairly straightforward, except for when it’s not. The book has a tendency to just skip over fairly important stuff (LIKE THE RESOLUTION TO THE ENTIRE PLOT!) and have characters just give quick recaps of what happened. This is never frustrating, it’s just another part of the charm of the book. The protagonists aren’t level-headed or sane, so why should the book be? The art matches the writing, bright and colourful and energetic and a bit punk rock, but the art team also delivers hard on the more intimate moments.

This is great fun. Definitely check it out.

I’m predicting big things from Visaggio. I hope so, anyway.

I’ve still been depressed. I really need to get over this. Bleh. I’m hanging out with a friend tomorrow. Maybe that’ll help me feel a bit better.

My schedule for the week: 11:30-6:15 Saturday, 11:30-8 Sunday, 10-4 Monday. I’ll try to post. I want to post. I just haven’t been able to get motivated.

That’s it for this week.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

