Skip to content

Pull List for March 8 2017

March 7, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow. As I have been almost this entire week. So few hours. Urgh.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #18, by Tom Taylor, Nik Virella, Michael Garland and Cory Petit; Mosaic #6, by Geoffrey Thorne, Bruno Oliveira  And Emilio Lopez; My Little Pony Deviations #1, by Katie Cook and Agnes Garbowska; Power Man & Iron Fist #14, by David Walker, Sanford Greene and Lee Loughridge; Silver Surfer #9, by Dan Slott, Mike and Laura Allred and Joe Sabino; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #18, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Rico Renzi and Travis Lanham; The Wicked + The Divine, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson and Clayton Cowles.

I’ll also review: IvX #6, by Charles Soule, Jeff Lemire, Leinil Francis Yu, Gerry Alanguilan and David Curiel; Old Man Logan #19, by Jeff Lemire, Filipe Andrade, Jordan Boyd and Cory Petit.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and two other reviews. Pretty good week.

And some good comics. Wolverine’s always good, and the current arc’s been good, and it’s building to what should be a petty great climax. Mosaic’s finally reached a point where it can explore what the character’s going to do with himself. A new artist for this issue, but the preview looked pretty good. PM&IF is barrelling along its gang war arc, now with more Senor Magico. Silver Surfer is always wonderful. So is Squirrel Girl, which will have more FLYING SQUIRREL GIRL YAY! And WicDiv is WicDiv.

So, there’s been been some controversy. As there usually is. Marvel put out a bunch of villain variant covers for Secret Empire. One of those covers showed Magneto. Here’s the issue with that: Hydra is popularly perceived as being Nazis. I’m not interested in debating whether they’re really Nazis, what other groups they’ve stood in for, what Steve Rogers’ branch of Hydra is, any of that. All of that is beside the point. The point is that Hydra is popularly perceived as Nazis. That’s how most of the audience sees them. To most of the audience, Hydra = Nazis. It’s just how it is. Magneto, of course, is a Holocaust survivor. And someone that most of the audience knows is a Holocaust survivor.

So. The cover shows a Holocaust survivor siding with Nazis. That’s how a lot of people saw it. And that is not what one could call good optics. The cover is a mistake. It’s in bad taste, at the very least, and is arguably downright offensive. It never should have been made. And it should be pulled. Because it’s a cover of a Holocaust survivor siding with Nazis.

I will note that the cover isn’t Nick Spencer’s fault, and he shouldn’t be blamed for it. It’s the editors who should receive criticism for it. And I did, in fact, tweet Alanna Smith and Tom Brevoort to say that it’s offensive and should be pulled. That said: If Secret Empire has Magneto helping the Secret Empire? That can be blamed on Spencer. And I would go so far as to argue that he, and the editors, should lose their jobs. Because you do not have a Holocaust survivor work with Nazis. If Magneto helps the Secret Empire? Then there’s no chance in hell that I will spend another dime to support anything Spencer writes, no matter what book he gets assigned to.

I’m going to see Logan tonight. I’d prefer to wait another week or two, honestly, but my brother wants to go. So, OK, I’ll go tonight.

I’ve fallen behind on Legion. I need to get back to watching it. I also need to get back to reading more. Bleh, I never do anything, so why am I so behind on the stuff I do? Ugh. I suck at life.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

