Skip to content

Pull List for April 5 2017

April 4, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert).Yay for being off tomorrow so I can read comics.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #19, by Tom Taylor, Leonard Kirk, Cory Hamscher, Michael Garland and Cory Petit; America #2, by Gabby Rivera, Joe Quinones, Joe Rivera, Ming Doyle, Jose Villarrubia and Travis Lanham; Avengers #6, by Mark Waid, Mike Del Mundo, Marco D’Alfonso and Cory Petit; Hawkeye #5, by Kelly Thompson, Michael Walsh, Jordie Bellaire and Joe Sabino; Jem & the Holograms #25, by Kelly Thompson, Gisele Lagace, M. Victoria Robado and Shawn Lee.

I’ll also review: X-Men Gold #1, by Marc Guggenheim, Ardian Syaf, Jay Leisten, and I’m not sure who else. Hey, Marvel? Maybe start including FULL creative teams in solicits? I know you want to downplay the role of colour artists so you can justify underpaying them. But maybe stop doing that, and actually include them in the solicits, because there are people who care about that shit, you assholes.

So that’s 5 comics I’m picking up, and one additional review. Not too bad.

All good, too! Wolverine’s been phenomenal. Taylor’s been killing it, and after the big Enemy of the State II arc, I’m eager to see where Taylor takes Laura and her family. America got off to a fun, albeit somewhat rough, start, and I’m expecting #2 to be a bit rough, too, but I’m hoping it shows signs of Rivera growing into the medium. Avengers has been fantastic, a great classic Avengers series, telling one of the best Kang stories, ad Mike Del Frigging Mundo, guys, you can never go wrong with Mike Del Mundo. Hawkeye’s just been a delight. And Jem is one of the best comics coming out.

I had early shifts all weekend and I kept going to bed way too late so I’ve just been way too damn tired. Did play a little more Mass Effect 3. I did Eden Prime, and got Javik. I love Javik. He’s the best. And I’ve started reading the People of Colour Destroy Horror! Special issue of Nightmare Magazine. Holy crap. There’s a story about a rock with EAT scrawled on the side that the narrator definitely didn’t take into her apartment, and it is creepy as hell.

Anyway, I’ve been too tired to think of anything to say. I could talk about that whole thing where a dude from Marvel made a comment about diversity not selling, but meh, it’s a really big and complex topic and I am just too tired for it. I’m sure I’ll talk about diversity on here again at some point. But it’ll have to wait for some other week. For now, I’ll just note that Marvel has never had a black woman writing an ongoing title. Make of that observation what you will.

Oh, I’ll also mention that Agents of SHIELD is back from its late-winter hiatus tonight. Woot. And less than two weeks until My Little Pony starts its 7th season.

So that’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

