Skip to content

Pull List for April 19 2017

April 18, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, yay.

I’ll go to the store for: Mirror #7, by Emma Rios and Hwei Lim; Ms. Marvel #17, by G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa, Ian Herring and Joe Caramagna; My Little Pony Friends Forever #38, by Andy Price; Silk #19, by Robbie Thompson, Tana Ford, Ian Herring and Travis Lanham; USAvengers #5, by Al Ewing, Paco Diaz, Jesus Aburtov and Joe Caramagna.

I’ll also review: Nothing. Not a single X-title this week.

So that’s just the 5 comics I’m picking up. Pretty light week.

Mirror is a gorgeous comic. I don’t always understand what’s going on, but it’s just so lush and beautiful – art and writing alike – that I don’t even mind. Ms. Marvel’s always excellent, and this is the end of a big arc, and the preview has a group hug. So yay. Silk has been, in my mind, the best of the Spider-titles over the past few years, so I’m sad to see it ending, but I’m hoping it ends on a big note. (I also hope the Raff/Lola wedding does happen. Ford strongly implied it was planned, I’m hoping she and Thompson managed to fit it in. I’ll be devastated if I don’t get that wedding.) USAvengers is a Secret Empire tie-in, but Ewing’s made great use of tie-ins to move his own stories forward, so I’m confident this’ll be great, too.

July solicits are out. My Marvel pull list for that month: All-New Wolverine #22, Avengers #9, Black Bolt #3, Generation X #4, Hawkeye #8, Unstoppable Wasp #7, Black Panther & the Crew #4, Hulk #8, Ms. Marvel #20, Silver Surfer #13, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #22, America #5, Luke Cage #3, USAvengers #8, Ultimates 2 #9, Black Panther #16, Moon Girl #21, Occupy Avengers #9, Mighty Captain Marvel #7.

So I back stuff on Kickstarter. I mostly talk about the comics and books I back. But I back some games, too. Including some visual novels. One visual novel I backed was Four Horsemen. It’s been released to backers, and it’ll be coming on Steam soon. And, uh, holy shit. Really good. There are some terrible jokes that I absolutely loved. But the focus was on the drama. It’s a story about immigrants, refugees. They avoided going with real-world countries, but they did base the fictional nations on real cultures, to an extent. I’ve only done one playthrough so far, and it was great. It’s basically just some immigrant teens living their lives. Things get super-dramatic in a very unexpected way. And there’s some really good commentary about what it means to be an immigrant. And it’s just a great story, and if you enjoy visual novels, or if you might want to try them, it’s definitely worth playing.

So we got a Star Wars trailer and poster. And now we need to wait until December for the movie. So unfair. That poster is perfect, I gotta say. Simple, eye-catching, evocative. It’s a great example of what a movie poster should be. Too often, movie posters are just People Standing, or Heads Floating. They’re boring. The poster for The Last Jedi clearly had tons of thought put into it. It’s a classic image, perfectly done.

So this Saturday, there’s a local “pop event.” Kinda like a convention, but, you know, shittier. I live in a shitty town. Just the same, I go to this event every year. It’s something to do. I’ll take some pictures, and buy some stuff. But to give you an idea how lame it is: The biggest guests this year are Sean Gunn, Michael Koske, Kimberly Leemans, Don Teems and Yanic Truesdale. I have no idea who any of those people are. Geof Isherwood will be there, though. Classic comic artist. He was at the last one, too. I got an X-Men print from him.

Isherwood

Of course, Isherwood lives in Montreal, so he’s just an hour’s drive away. So it’s not like it’s a big deal for him to come down. But still, it’s neat.

I still keep forgetting to come up with things to talk about each week. Oh well. Oh! I watched Star Trek: Beyond the other night. It wasn’t bad. Best of the reboot trilogy, definitely. Moderately less bad as a Star Trek movie, significantly better as an action movie, than either of the ones Abrams made, which frankly failed at both. So, yeah, I actually kinda liked it. I did livetweet it, but I didn’t collect the livetweet, because I didn’t care enough, so if you want to read it, you’ll just have to go back through my Twitter feed.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

