Skip to content

Pull List for May 3 2017

May 2, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). Is it obnoxious for me to start my posts that way? Oh well.

I’ll go to the store for: Black Bolt #1, by Saladin Ahmed, Christian Ward and Clayton Cowles; Hawkeye #6, by Kelly Thompson, Michael Walsh, Jordie Bellaire, Joe Sabino and Travis Lanham; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #53, by James Asmus and Tony Fleecs; Spider-Man/Deadpool #17, by Joe Kelly, Ed McGuinness, Mark Morales, Walden Wong, Jason Keith Matt Yackey and Joe Sabino; Unstoppable Wasp #5, by Jeremy Whitley, Elsa Charretier, Megan Wilson and Joe Caramagna.

I’ll also review: Jean Grey #1, by Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibanez, Jay David Ramos and Travis Lanham; X-Men Gold #3, by Marc Guggenheim, Ardian Syaf, Craig Yeung, Jay Leisten, Frank Martin and Cory Petit.

So that’s 5 comics I’m picking up, and 2 additional reviews. Light week.

Hawkeye has more Kate/Jessica Jones, so that’ll be great. They’re fun together. And it’s just a fun book. Spider-Man/Deadpool is rushing towards its climax, and Kelly and McGuinness (and the others) have been doing great work, so it’ll be interesting to see how it ends. And Wasp has been a delightful series, and hopefully, this issue will keep up the added drama from last issue.

Black Bolt #1 is something I’m not overly excited about, to be honest. I’ve talked plenty about the need to support diverse titles and diverse creators. And I try to do that. So I’m going to at least pick up the first issue of Black Bolt, because it is being written by a Muslim-American. Just the same, the book’s going to have to be pretty damn good to keep me buying it, because I kinda hate Black Bolt as a character. He strikes me as being almost the embodiment of patriarchy. For a long, long time, he was the King of the Inhumans, the absolute monarch whose decisions were unquestioned, and obviously, as the patriarch, his decisions were always the right ones. He was the most powerful of the Inhumans, and the wisest, and the noblest, and just all-around the best, because, as patriarch, he had to be the best, to prove that he should be in charge, that it was his duty to be the king and to protect all the little people. Even his muteness played into that. It removed any obligation he may have had to explain anything he decided – how can he explain if he can’t talk, right? And his speech could literally shake the city. And it also meant that everyone else was obligated to figure out what his gestures meant. His being unable to speak removed him, and while it was meant to make him tragic, it also served as a way to place him above everyone else. The Ultimate Patriarch. But patriarchy sucks. And monarchy is a terrible system of government that exists primarily to exploit the masses for the glory of a small number of elites. So Black Bolt is basically designed for me to hate him. There is absolutely nothing about him that appeals to me. But . . . I want to support diverse creators. So I’ll pick up the first issue for Saladin Ahmed. And if the book doesn’t do much to blow me away, I’ll drop it, because fuck Black Bolt.

I’ve read a few things over the past few weeks, but haven’t written up reviews of them yet. I suck. I need to get around to it. I finished People of Colour Destroy! Horror, Scooter Girl, and Beyond Anthology. And I have yet to write up the reviews for any of them. I have a few days off, I’ll try to do it this week.

It’s Free Comic Book Day on Saturday. I won’t be bothering with it. I don’t give a shit about Secret Empire, and I don’t think there’s any other free comics I’d want. FCBD is a fantastic way of getting people into a comic shop, and hopefully get them to come back. But for people who already frequent comic shops? For Wednesday Warriors like myself? Not really as big a deal.

So, I forgot my mom’s birthday last week. Oops. It’s so stupid, I knew it was coming up, but I completely lost track of the entire month. Like, I was telling myself just a few days ago that I had time. “I’ll get her present a few days before.” Then, haha! Nope! I’m an idiot! It was a complete accident, and it was just losing track of the month, and not knowing when the hell in the month it was. Argh.

Anyway, that’ll do for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

