Skip to content

Pull List for May 17 2017

May 16, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). So things are going on in my personal life, which I’ll get to. But first, tomorrow.

I’ll go to the store for: Animosity #7, by Marguerite Bennett, Rafael de Latorre, Rob Schwager and Marshall Dillon; Generation X #1, by Christina Strain, Amilcar Pinna, Felipe Sobreiro and Clayton Cowles; Luke Cage #1, by David Walker, Nelson Blake, and I’m not sure who else; USAvengers #6, by Al Ewing, Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco, Jesus Aburtov and Joe Caramagna; Ultimates 2 #7, by Al Ewing, Aud Koch; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #20, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Rico Renzi and Travis Lanham; The Wicked + The Divine 455 AD, by Kieron Gillen, Andre Araujo.

I’ll also review: X-Men Gold #4, by Marc Guggenheim, R.B. Silva, Andriano Di Benedetto, Frank Martin and Cory Petit.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and one additional review. Pretty standard week.

A good week, too! Animosity! Always a treat. Generation X is the Resurrxion title I’ve been most anticipating. Jubilee! The preview has Chamber! The only X-title written by a woman or POC! It should be a lot of fun. Luke Cage should be great. Walker killed it on Power Man & Iron Fist, and it’ll be cool seeing Cage on his own. And the art looks more my tastes, not that I actually minded Greene and the others on PM&IF. USAvengers will be a Secret Empire tie-in, and while I don’t care about SE, Ewing’s always great at using tie-ins to tell his own stories. The same thing with Ultimates 2, though I suspect that’ll deal more with Galactus doing his own thing, whihc is also cool. Squirrel Girl is always delightful and I love it. And we get the second WicDiv special, this time going back to the Pantheon of 455. Should be fun.

So, yeah. My personal life. My mom is selling her house. Since I’ve been living with her, that means I’m going to have to move out. I’ll need to find my own place. Since I’m not making enough right now to afford living on my own, that means getting a new job. My mom wants me in a call centre. My brother wants me in a warehouse. My friend wants me in school. I just wanna chuck it all and live in the woods. Find a nice bridge to live under. I’ve already applied at the call centre. I can’t imagine any reason they wouldn’t hire me, given I spent 7 years working at a call centre before. But man, I am not looking forward to working at a call centre again.

I’m also not looking forward to finding my own place. Even working full-time at a call centre, I doubt I’d be able to afford an apartment on my own. That means moving in with someone. And since I don’t really know anyone in town, it means moving in with a stranger. So that’ll be awkward and not at all fun. So I’ll need to start looking for a place. Then I’ll need to arrange the move, figure out what I’m taking with me, what to get rid of. And then there’ll be all the fun of getting used to a new place, and living on my own again, and finding some patterns to get into. (I swear, one of the biggest problems I’ve had since I started at Walmart has been the lack of any sort of pattern to my life.)

This is all just going to suck so much. And on top of it all, odds are good I’m going to have to eat into a chunk of the money I’ve saved up, so if I ever find another job out of town, I’ll have that much less money for a move. Life sucks.

I’ll also need to sell off a chunk of my comics. And get rid of a lot of my books. The smart thing to do would be to keep two boxes worth of comics, and to switch almost entirely to reading only digitally. I hate to do that. I like physical comics, and I like supporting my LCS. But if I move into an apartment, space will definitely be a constraint. I won’t be able to keep too many boxes of comics. So the smartest move would be to cut down to a box of creator-owned comics, and a box of Marvel comics I can’t give up. Maybe make it three boxes total, see what I have that I can’t live without. Journey Into Mystery, Young Avengers and Ms. Marvel, obviously. Vision, of course, even if I don’t have the first two issues. (Maybe I should pick those up at the next local geek con. I might be missing an issue of JiM, too.) Hellcat? Weirdworld? Angela? (Actually, definitely Angela, it has Stephanie Hans art.) Squirrel Girl, probably. Sigh. So much to decide. Books, too. Though I’ve been wanting to get rid of a bunch for a while anyway. But enough to fit on one bookcase? Uuuuuugh! I hate this!

I guess that’s it for this week.

From → Pull list

2 Comments
  1. That sucks about needing to move out. I hope everything works out for you.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

