Skip to content

Pull List for June 28 2017; Marvel: Legacy thoughts

June 27, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I have to wonder how much longer I’ll be doing pull lists, now that Marvel has CHANGED THE INDUSTRY FOREVER!!! with Marvel Legacy. But I’ll talk about that below. First, tomorrow’s pull list.

I’ll go to the store for: Black Panther #15, by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Wilifredo Torres, Adam Gorham, Terry Pallot, Laura Martin, and Joe Sabino; Jem & the Holograms Infinite #1, by Kelly Thompson, Stacey Lee; Mighty Captain Marvel #6, by Margaret Stohl, Michele Bandini, and apparently no one else, just those two, ; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #20, by Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos, Tamra Bonvillain, and Joe Caramagna; My Little Pony Movie Prequel #1, by Ted Anderson, Andy Price; Occupy Avengers #8, by David Walker, Jorge Coelho, Martin Morazzo, Mat Lopes, and Clayton Cowles.

I’ll also review: Cable #2, by James Robinson, Carlos Pacheco, Rafael Fonteriz, Jesus Aburtov, Federico Blee, and Cory Petit; Jean Grey #3, by Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibanez, Al Barrionuevo, Jay David Ramos, Dono Sanchez-Almara, and Travis Lanham; Totally Awesome Hulk #20, by Grek Pak, Robert Gill, and I would assume other people; X-Men Blue #6, by Cullen Bunn, Ray-Anthony Height, and who the hell knows who else because there’s no preview and the people who write up solicits think half the creative team doesn’t matter.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and 4 other reviews. Good week. On the flip side: I’m getting pretty goddamn fed up with not being able to find full creative teams for issues.

Lots of good stuff. Black Panther’s been excellent, and the preview shows Ayo and Aneka doing a Fastball Special and being super-cute with each other. And I’m enjoying this current Gods of Wakanda arc. Jem has been one of the best comics out there for the past couple years, and the Infinite crossover between the Holograms and the Misfits looks like it should be loads of fun, even if Stacey Lee’s only doing, like, half an issue (Jen Hickman will be doing the rest of the Holograms issues, Jenn St.-Onge still on the Misfits issues). Moon Girl is always a delight, and Girl Moon seems pretty cool and sweet. And Occupy Avengers has been good, and from the preview, Frank and Silas are showing up again. Those guys were great.

But none of this really matters, because Marvel CHANGED THE COMIC INDUSTRY FOREVER!!!1one. So, Marvel Legacy. Jokes aside: Holy shit, did Marvel ever screw that up. I am still absolutely flabbergasted at how much they screwed that up. They made a huge deal about having a massive announcement for Friday, and then Friday comes along, and its variant covers, homaging older covers. And . . . that’s it? It’s not even the full Legacy line-up, as Runaways, at the very least, was absent from it. So we don’t even know if there might be other titles they left out of the line-up. We sure as hell don’t know anything about any of the titles. We can assume that most will continue with their same creative teams. But there’s a few we don’t know. And Marvel told us jack shit about them. I guess because creative teams just don’t matter.

I mean, shit, they couldn’t even do the reveals of the covers properly. The gifs are set to change way too fast. The gif for the GotG cover didn’t even work. And a chunk of variants didn’t have the line artists credited. (None of them had colour artists credited, which is bullshit. Colour artists matter, Marvel. Give them the fucking credit they deserve, you assholes.) Also, of all the covers that had artists credited: Two women. And I know Veronica Fish did one, so that makes three female artists, out of aaaaaallllllllllllll those covers. They had Rob Fucking Liefeld do a cover, but they couldn’t ask Sara Pichelli? Come on.

I have seen zero excitement for Legacy anywhere. None. Every single reaction I’ve seen to Friday’s big announcement has been negative. It is astonishing just how few shits Marvel was able to stir up in anyone with this. And it was completely their own fault. They over-hyped it to the point of self-parody, so when it just turned out to be homage variant covers, everyone was too confused to even talk about how cool any of the covers were. And some of the covers are great! Stephanie Hans’ Death of Mighty Thor cover? Mmph! Hans is always amazing. Felipe Smith’s Moon Girl cover is wonderful. Dave Johnson’s Secret Warriors cover is great. Christian Ward’s USAvengers cover, Mike Allred’s Avengers cover, Juan Doe’s Royals cover, the Mighty Captain Marvel cover, Generation X, Veronica Fish’s Unbeatable Squirrel Girl cover, Christian Ward’s Black Bolt cover, Kris Anka’s Wolverine cover. Plenty of other great covers, too. But no one’s talking about them, because Marvel promised something more, and then never delivered, and everyone’s talking about that.

(For the record, my Legacy pull list: America, Moon Girl, Luke Cage, Hawkeye, USAvengers, Avengers, Black Panther, Captain Marvel, Generation X, Squirrel Girl, She-Hulk, Black Bolt, Wolverine, Ms. Marvel. 14 titles. Which is about as small as my Marvel pull list has been in years. Which is kind of a mixed thing. I think it’s good that Marvel’s cutting its line, but it is unfortunate for me that it means so many titles I love are among those cut. Well, my wallet will be happy.)

In personal news: I might have some personal news soon? I applied for a call centre job, to get something full time. The woman said she hoped to get me in for the July 3 training class, but I haven’t heard back yet to know for sure. So, I don’t know. It would just be a call centre, which, ugh. But I’d be doing customer service for Canada Post. So at least sales probably wouldn’t be a big thing. I hate selling. I’m no good at it, and I don’t like doing it. Customer service for Canada Post would probably come down to just being yelled at for 8 hours a day, and buddy, I used to do customer service for cell phones for Americans. You wanna yell at me? You go right ahead. So, much as I’d hate to work in a call centre again, getting full-time hours would be a help for me. Especially since my mom is thinking of selling her place, and when that happens, I’ll need to find a place of my own. Which will suuuuuuuck, and I’ll need full-time hours for that. And in the meantime, I can pay down some of my credit card debt.

Anyway, that’s it for this week.

From → Pull list

2 Comments
  1. Yeah, the whole Legacy initiative feels like it just exists. Not all that much seems to be changing.

  2. G'kar permalink

    Yeah I found it kind of odd after hyping up their announcement like that it was just Variant covers. Didn’t seem like a good move on Marvel’s part, this might not be case but it’s possible they changed their mind about making their change everything announcement on Friday and decided to wait until SDCC or marvel just fucked up again.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

