Skip to content

Pull List for July 5 2017

July 4, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). Happy Independence Day, to you Americans. Personal news below. But first, tomorrow’s list.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #22, by Tom Taylor, Leonard Kirk, Cory Hamscher, Michael Garland, Erick Arciniega, and Joe Sabino; Avengers #9, by Mark Waid, Mike Del Mundo, and Cory Petit; Black Bolt #3, by Saladin Ahmed, Christian Ward, and Clayton Cowles; Hawkeye #8, by Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero, Jordie Bellaire, and Joe Sabino; Jem & the Holograms Misfits Infinite #1, by Kelly Thompson, Jenn St. Onge; My Little Pony Legends of Magic #4, by Jeremy Whitley, Brenda Hickey; Snotgirl #6, by Brian Lee O’Malley, Leslie Hung, Rachel Cohen; Unstoppable Wasp #7, by Jeremy Whitley, Veronica Fish, Megan Wilson, and Joe Caramagna; The Wicked + The Divine #26, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles.

I’ll also review: X-Men Gold #7, by Marc Guggenheim, Ken Lashley, and start giving full fucking credit on these X-Men titles, Marvel.

So that’s 9 frigging comics I’m picking up. And one additional review. Holy crap, this is a heavy week.

Most of it looks great. The Wolverine preview shows more Gabby/Deadpool goodness, though it seems like he won’t stick around, which is probably the right call. Either way, it’s always an enjoyable read, and Laura vs. Brood should be great. Avengers has Mike Del Mundo back, so hell yes. Gimme that Del Mundo art. Black Bolt has been better than I’d hoped, and shows no signs of slowing down. So, I have to keep buying it. Hawkeye’s been loads of fun, and with the current arc, Thompson is bringing in some heavy drama, too. The Jem comics are must-reads, especially when Jenn St.Onge draws them, because she’s amazing. Snotgirl is back! Which means more lovely Hung artwork! And more Lottie and Coolgirl and everyone else who isn’t Lottie or Coolgirl. Wasp will be a Janet-oriented issue, and the preview is pretty delightful. And has Millie the Model, and her friend, Chili. So that’s pretty neat. And WicDiv remains WicDiv. One of the best comics where you hate every single thing going on.

Anyway, personal news. Yesterday, I quit my job at Walmart. Tomorrow, I start training at a call centre, where I’ll be doing customer service for Canada Post. I only got confirmation of being hired yesterday, which means I wasn’t able to give two weeks notice at Walmart. Which sucks, because I feel like a dick for not doing it. But with my mom still wanting to sell her house – she’s mostly just waiting on finding somewhere else to live – I’m going to need full-time hours. And Walmart doesn’t do full-time. So, a call centre. I can’t say I’m enthusiastic about that. I spent 7 years working in a call centre. It was soul-crushing. That was doing customer service for cell phones for Americans. I doubt I’ll be offending any Americans reading this when I note that there’s a lot of asshole Americans. But honestly, the customers weren’t the worst part. Management was. The management at my old job sucked. Hopefully, the new place won’t be as bad.

There are some things I’m kinda looking forward to about it. Since it’s Canada Post, I can’t imagine there’ll be much focus on sales. (I won’t actually be working directly for Canada Post. It’s a third-party company Canada Post outsources to.) It’s tax-payer funded, so it doesn’t have the same profit motive as private companies. Less pressure to up-sell, I’m assuming. Also, being back on a set schedule will probably be good for me. I’ve been pretty messed up for the past couple years, and I think a major part of it is not having a set schedule. I can’t get into any patterns or habits, because I work different hours from one day to the next. Even though I’ll be working full-time, I suspect I’ll probably end up being more productive. I’ll do more blogging, do more reading, watch more stuff. I’ll spend my time better, even if I have less of it.

So, we’ll see how it goes.

And that’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

