Skip to content

Pull List for July 26 2017

July 25, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). It’s my last week of training. But tomorrow, comics.

I’ll go to the store for: Black Panther #16, by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Chris Sprouse, Dexter Vines, Karl Story, Walden Wong, Andrew Crossley, Laura Martin, and Joe Sabino; Mighty Captain Marvel #7, by Margaret Stohl, Michele Bandini, and who the hell knows; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #21, by Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos, Tamra Bonvillain, and Joe Caramagna; My Little Pony Movie Prequel #2, by Ted Anderson and Andy Price; Occupy Avengers #9, by David Walker, Gabriel Walta, Jordie Bellaire, and Clayton Cowles.

I’ll also review: Cable #3, by James Robinson, Carlos Pacheco, Rafael Fonteriz, Thony Silas, Dono Sanchez-Almara, Federico Blee, Jesus Aburtov, and Cory Petit.; Iceman #3, by Sina Grace, Alessandro Vitti, Rachelle Rosenberg, and Joe Sabino; Weapon X #6, by Greg Pak, Greg Land, and who the hell knows; X-Men #8, by Cullen Bunn, Cory Smith, Joey Vasquez, Terry Pallot, Matt Milla, and Joe Caramagna.

So that’s 5 comics I’m picking up, and 4 reviews. Not too bad, I guess.

So why I’m excited: Black Panther’s been great, and Storm’s playing a major role now, and Coates writes her really well. Mighty Captain Marvel hasn’t been as good as it should be, but I’ve still mostly enjoyed it, and the SE tie-in has been pretty decent. Moon Girl! Such a wonderful book. And Occupy’s been a good run, and I’ll be sad to see it go.

On Saturday, I went to see Spider-Man: Homecoming. It was great. Definitely the best Spider-Man movie. Really fun, great humour, great action. Tom Holland was charming as Peter. Michael Keaton was fantastic as Toomes. An easy villain to root for, as an everyman who got screwed over by bigger financial interests. Ned was great as the best friend. Michelle was a pretty heavy homage to Ally Sheedey’s character from The Breakfast Club, right down to going to detention when she doesn’t have to, and I found it weird. I liked that the teachers were all pretty cool. I liked Peter talking to people in his community. The Captain America videos were hilarious. One thing I noticed was the use of Blitzkrieg Bop early on, and it made me wonder if that was done because the Ramones did that famous cover of the Spider-Man theme. Anyway, yeah, great movie. Loved it. And now I turn my attention to looking forward to the next bunch of Marvel movies.

Speaking of which: That Thor trailer. You watched it? I assume you did. It was good. Cate Blanchett as Hela. Damn. She’s bitchin’. I love the horns. Thor and Hulk bonding. Valkyrie being casually badass. Thor and Loki with bigass alien guns. It’s a great trailer, and it looks like a great movie. And of course, Black Panther looks awesome. And we’ve gotten a few details about Captain Marvel, though what’s been revealed is weird. Skrulls as the enemies? Awesome, I’m down with that. The movie taking place in the ’90s? Not sure how that’ll work. It means she’d be pushing 50 in Infinity War. So will she just age slowly or something? I don’t know, we’ll see what they do with that.

Uh, what other SDCC news was there? A Jem & the Holograms anthology series. The first issue will have a story by Kate Leth and Tana Ford, about the Holograms playing D&D. So that’ll be amazing and my favourite thing. It’ll also have a story by Sophie Campbell, so yay very much for that. And Marvel Legacy is doing some one-shots for some older comics. Dazzler, Silver Sable, Deadly Hands of Kung-Fu, Darkhawk, Power Pack, and I forget the last one. That’s actually pretty awesome. And while we don’t have creative teams announced yet, Magdalene Visaggio liked quite a few tweets about the Dazzler issue, so I have a hunch she’ll be writing that one, and she is a perfect choice. I’d still prefer a Dazzler ongoing, but I will take a one-shot by Magdalene Visaggio.

So, this is my final week of classroom training at work. On Monday, I hit the floor and start taking calls. Bleh. Dealing with the public, what a hassle. Getting yelled at, struggling to understand thick accents. And we’re not allowed pens on the floor, so that’s probably going to mess me up. I tend to do stuff with my hands a lot. I’m actually considering getting a fidget spinner. I probably should.

I don’t watch Dr. Who, so I didn’t actually mention this when it was relevant, but I’m glad BBC has finally cast a woman as Dr. Who. Apparently the creator of the series wanted one back in 1986. And it’s about time they did it. Dr. Who is an immortal regenerating alien time traveler. Why, exactly, would they always have to be male? So it’s cool to see. I still won’t be watching the show.

I am so goddamn tied lately. Staying up until 2 am, getting up at 6:30. It’s killing me. I’m an idiot.

That’s it for this week.

One Comment
  1. I am looking forward to Captain Marvel taking on the Skrulls in the movie. I’m sure they’ll figure out some way to make it taking place in the 90’s work. Maybe she somehow ended up in a high gravity part of the galaxy/universe and time moved faster? it would make sense for a character of her power set.

    And yes, Thor: Ragnorok looks good.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

