Skip to content

Pull List for August 2 2017

August 1, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’ll try to keep posting reviews Wednesdays, but they may sometimes slip to Thursdays.

I’ll go to the store for: Avengers #10, by Mark Waid, Mike Del Mundo; Black Bolt #4, by Saladin Ahmed, Christian Ward, and Clayton Cowles; Hawkeye #9, by Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero, Jordie Bellaire, and Joe Sabino; Unstoppable Wasp #8, by Jeremy Whitley, Ro Stein, Ted Brandt, Megan Wilson, and Joe Caramagna.

I’ll also review: X-Men Gold #9, by Marc Guggenheim, Ken Lashley, Andrew Crossley, Frank Martin, and Cory Petit.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and one additional review. Wow. Finally, a light week.

Why I’m excited: Mike Del Mundo! There are people who think he’s a bad choice for Avengers. These people are wrong. Mike Del Mundo is a perfect choice for everything. Black Bolt’s been stellar, one of those books too many people are sleeping on, and this issue looks like it’ll have a heavy Creel focus, which is good, because Ahmed writes a great Creel. Hawkeye has been a wonderful series that’s been getting increasingly heavy, and been doing an excellent job at it. And Unstoppable Wasp has been an absolute delight and I am so sad to see it end. Damn you all for not buying this little ray of sunshine.

A few days ago, Marvel editor Heather Antos posted a selfie of herself with a few other female Marvel editors, getting milkshakes. It was fun and cheerful. And anti-SJW assholes jumped on it and insulted her. They objected to women getting milkshakes. Because that’s how stupid the anti-SJW crowd is. They are misogynistic prickholes who just want to push women out of “their” hobby. They want comics to be a guys’ club. The people who complain about “SJW agendas” are miserable, hateful assholes. And if you disagree with me? Then I want to know what you do to support diversity in comics. Because the people who always bitch about how Marvel handles diversity always claim they support diversity. “I support diversity, but.” Always the but, every single time any bit of diversity is attempted. And when you ask them what diverse titles they do support? Silence. Always silence. So I’m just going to set this as a rule: You wanna debate diversity with me? Then first, you have to tell me what you do to actually support diverse content. Show me the receipts, as the cool people say. Are you buying comics that focus on women and POC? Are you buying comics actually created by women and POC? If you’re not actually spending money on diverse content, then you ain’t frigging supporting diversity, and I don’t give one single wet hot shit what you think of how Marvel handles diversity. (But seriously, on the CBR boards, every time a thread gets into a debate about diversity, I always challenge the “I support diversity but” crowd to prove their support. Not frigging once have I ever gotten a response. Because the “I support diversity but” crowd doesn’t actually support diversity. They want theirs, and fuck everyone else.)

So I’ve started on the floor at my job. Canada Post customer service. This was my second day, but this post was scheduled to go up before I got home, so I can’t tell you how today went. But yesterday. It was meh. It’s a call centre. I spent 7 years working in one. This one seems like it won’t be as bad, but it’s still a call centre. So I can’t exactly say I’m enthused about it. It’s a job. It’s full-time hours, which means money.

I finally finished my playthrough of the Mass Effect trilogy. Here are my livetweets of 1, 2 and 3 was split into two parts (1 and 2). With that done, I’ll probably livetweet more movies. I’ve gotta do Logan and Rogue One. Then maybe I’ll drag myself back to my DS9 watchthrough. Oh, I should also watch Legion. And I should probably get around to Iron Fist at some point. Even though I still dislike that they kept Danny white. Worse, they went with a white dude with no martial arts training.

You should back Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction. It’s sci-fi short fiction by disabled writers, about disabled characters. Support disabled artists. Support disabled representation.

And that’s it for this week.

3 Comments
  1. G'kar permalink

    Really they harassed her over a picture of her and other’s getting milkshakes. I’m not surprised that the Anti- SJW crowd would do that. I would say that they need to grow the fuck up, it would do one bit of good to do so since they sit in front of their computers fingers proudly shoved up their noses thinking they’re the great saviors of the fandom or some bullshit like that.

    On a completely different note

    Deep space nine is awesome I’m going have to find time to re watch it.

  2. There was a reply I didn’t approve. Because the dude missed a pretty crucial part of my paragraph about diversity: You wanna talk to me about it, tell me what you do to support it. If you just wanna criticize how Marvel does it, without actually saying what diverse content and creators you’re supporting? I don’t give a shit. Did you back Bingo Love! on Kickstarter? Have you read Kim & Kim? Are you reading Insexts? Bitch Planet? What do you do to support diversity? Show me the damn receipts, or fuck right the hell off.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

