Skip to content

Pull List for August 9 2017

August 8, 2017

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). Good chance reviews will go up Thursday.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #23, by Tom Taylor, Leonard Kirk, Erick Arciniega, Michael Garland, and Cory Petit; Hulk #9, by Mariko Tamaki, Julian Lopez, Francesco Gaston, Matt Milla, and Cory Petit; Ms. Marvel #21, by G. Willow Wilson, Marco Failla, Ian Herring, and Joe Caramagna; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #57, by Thom Zahler and Tony Fleecs; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #23, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Rico Renzi, and Travis Lanham; The Wicked + The Divine #30, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles

I’ll also review: Generations Phoenix and Jean Grey, by Cullen Bunn, R.B. Silva, Adriano Di Benedetto, Rain Beredo, and Traavis Lanham; Jean Grey #5, by Dennis Hopeless, Anthony Piper, Jay David Ramos, and Travis Lanham; Old Man Logan #27, by Ed Brisson, Mike Deodato, Frank Martin, and Cory Petit.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and 3 additional reviews. Medium week.

Reasons for excitement: Wolverine’s been a great comic, and Wolverine vs. the Brood was always entertaining with Logan, and I can’t imagine how it couldn’t be even better with Laura doing the slicing. Hulk’s got very strong emotional beats, and I’m really feeling for Oliver and Warren, I want things to turn out OK for them. People who make cakes deserve good things. Ms. Marvel is Ms. Marvel, and I’m loving the political commentary of the current arc. Squirrel Girl is Squirrel Girl and is Squirrel Girl in the Savage Land and doing programming to save dinosaurs. They’re saving dinosaurs! And WicDiv is always fantastic, too.

So I’ve been trying to organize my comics. And I’ve discovered that I’m missing a bunch. Just random issues here and there that I know I read, but which aren’t there. Which is frustrating. I guess all I can do is make a list of what I’m missing, and try to find them at the next local comic event. Not so much for my own collection, but for whenever I finally get around to trying to sell them. Incomplete collections of runs would be a tougher sell. But man, organizing comics is boring and lame. I’ve got each individual box organized – just 7 of them, which is not many at all, really – so now I have to organize between the boxes. So, for example, my Squirrel Girl collection is split between two boxes. I need to get them in one box. I doubt I’ll bother with that for a while, though. I’m already bored with sorting them. I do have three boxes of old comics that are in too-poor condition to be able to sell, so I’ll need to throw those out.

It hit me yesterday just how far I’ve come with my reviews. How many comics I’ve reviewed. I’ve got 600 reviews. (604, actually.) That’s a lot. Even if it has taken me 5 years to get this far. And I’ve only got, let me see here . . . 47 goddamn issues left in 1989? Holy crap!

So I’ve finished my first week on the floor at my current job. It’s OK. I’m already at the jaded “it’s a job” phase. It’s actually not that complicated, for the most part. And I seem to be doing well. On Thursday – my fourth day of taking calls – I already had a buddy-jacker sitting in, listening to my calls. I guess the 7 years of experience at another call centre really helped me with this one.

I guess that’s all I’ve got for this week.

2 Comments
  1. At least you’re out of Walmart, right?
    Also, organizing your collection will make it a lot easier to re-read in the future. On that note, I should probably re-organize some of my own boxes. There doesn’t seem to be any real order in my independent box besides how each series is altogether.

    • I’m not organizing to re-read, I’m organizing for if I ever get around to selling some comics off.

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

